# Trampolines

Trampolines split first by who is jumping — backyard family play, a fitness rebounder, or a toddler bouncer — then by suspension: metal springs, elastic cords (mini only), or springless composite rods. ASTM F381 sets the minimum size and bars under-6 use; its companion standard, F2225, covers the enclosure net as a separate accessory.

## How it works

A trampoline stores a jumper's downward energy in a stretched suspension system around the mat's edge, then returns it as upward force a split second later. Backyard models use coiled steel springs; mini fitness rebounders use knotted elastic cords; one patented design replaces both with flexible composite rods hidden beneath the mat. More or longer springs store more energy and give a bigger, smoother bounce, but every design gets stiffer toward the edge and softer at the centre. ASTM F381 is the voluntary US standard covering the frame, mat and padding; a separate standard, F2225, covers the enclosure net as an accessory sold with the trampoline, not a mandatory part of it. [1] [11] [9]

| Family | What it is | Suits |
|---|---|---|
| Metal springs | Coiled steel springs connect the mat to the frame; the default suspension on nearly every backyard trampoline. | budget to premium backyard trampolines of any shape |
| Elastic cords | Knotted bungee cords, adjustable for firmness on some models, used instead of springs. | mini fitness rebounders, not full-size backyard trampolines |
| Composite rods | Flexible fibreglass-composite rods beneath the mat remove exposed springs entirely; one brand's patented design. | buyers who want no exposed metal springs at all |

## How an expert narrows the choice

```mermaid
timeline
  section 1 · Primary use
    fitness_rebounder : ask Cord firmness, Mat style : skip Shape, Enclosure net
    toddler_bouncer : ask Enclosure net
  section 2 · Shape
    Round, rectangular, oval, or square?
  section 3 · Suspension type
    metal_springs : ask Spring length, Spring count, Springs inside or outside the net
    composite_rods : skip Spring count, Spring length, Springs inside or outside the net
  section 4 · Enclosure net
    yes : ask Springs inside or outside the net
```

1. **Primary use.** Backyard play, a fitness rebounder, or a toddler bouncer?
   Sets almost everything else: a backyard trampoline needs a multi-user frame and a net; a rebounder is a different, indoor product on cords, not springs; a toddler bouncer is for the age group ASTM says to keep off full-size trampolines.
   If fitness_rebounder: ask Cord firmness, Mat style; skip Shape, Enclosure net.
   If toddler_bouncer: ask Enclosure net.
   Skip if already known: an earlier answer naming a rebounder, a toddler, or backyard play, a query that already names a shape (round, rectangular, oval, square), a query naming a water or dock trampoline (hand off to the water-play register).

2. **Shape.** Round, rectangular, oval, or square?
   Shape decides the footprint you need to clear and anchor in the yard, and is the first filter on nearly every brand's own site. It removes a large share of the catalog without needing any other answer first.
   Skip if already known: a stated yard length and width, an earlier answer already naming a shape.

3. **Suspension type.** Metal springs, elastic cords, or springless rods?
   Frame welds and net straps are recalled more often than springs themselves (8 and 5 of 15 CPSC recalls, vs. 1 cord failure), but suspension type drives the main price and pinch-hazard split, isolating the springless, rod-based tier at once.
   If metal_springs: ask Spring length, Spring count, Springs inside or outside the net.
   If composite_rods: skip Spring count, Spring length, Springs inside or outside the net.
   Skip if already known: an earlier answer naming springs, cords, or a springless design.

4. **Enclosure net.** Want a safety net around the mat?
   Net or strap failure is the single most repeated hazard across 25 years of CPSC trampoline recalls, so it is worth asking on its own rather than assuming every model has a working one.
   If yes: ask Springs inside or outside the net.
   Skip if already known: a toddler or fitness-rebounder answer already given.

## What to surface

### Primary use

Who is jumping and where: a full-size family trampoline, a mini indoor rebounder, or a toddler's low bouncer. This decides almost everything downstream. A full-size backyard trampoline needs a frame rated for more than one jumper and, ideally, a net. A fitness rebounder is a different product built for one adult indoors on elastic cords, not springs. A toddler bouncer trades size for very low height and covers the age group ASTM's own standard says should not use a full-size trampoline at all. [1] [11]

Values: backyard, fitness_rebounder, toddler_bouncer.
Question to ask: Backyard play, a fitness rebounder, or a toddler bouncer?

Used as: top-level split, filter. Data: on the listing, backfill cost none. Look for it as: product title and category breadcrumb, e.g. 'fitness trampoline' or 'toddler trampoline'.

### Shape

The mat's outline — round, rectangular, oval or square. Shape sets the footprint you need to clear and anchor, and brands say it affects bounce feel, though a specialist reviewer who measured bounce found spring length and count mattered more than shape alone. Round is the cheapest, most common default; rectangular, oval and square need more frame bracing and generally cost more for the same jumping area. [10] [8] [7]

Values: round, rectangular, oval, square.
Question to ask: Round, rectangular, oval, or square?

Used as: top-level split, filter, shown on the card. Data: on the listing, backfill cost none. Look for it as: title and breadcrumb, almost universally.
Chart: shape icon or outline next to size.

### Suspension type

What stretches to store and return the jump: coiled steel springs, knotted elastic cords, or hidden composite rods. Metal springs are cheapest, but of 15 CPSC trampoline recalls, frame-weld failures (8) and net/strap failures (5) outnumber spring or bungee-cord failures (1) — springs sit near other recalled parts more than they fail themselves. Elastic cords are only used on mini fitness rebounders. Composite rods remove exposed springs entirely and run quieter, but cost as much as the priciest spring trampolines of the same size and are harder to self-assemble. [9] [7] [3]

Values: metal_springs, bungee_cords, composite_rods.
Question to ask: Metal springs, elastic cords, or springless rods?

Used as: top-level split, filter, shown on the card. Data: on the listing, backfill cost low. Look for it as: headline marketing, e.g. 'springless' or spring count in the bullets.

### Enclosure net

Whether a webbed wall surrounds the mat to catch a jumper before they go over the edge. Net or strap failure is the single most repeated hazard in 25 years of CPSC trampoline recalls, across many brands, so having a net is not the same as the net holding up. The net is covered by a separate ASTM standard, F2225, sold as an accessory — a replacement net has to match your frame's pole count and diameter, not just its advertised size. [2] [3]

Question to ask: Want a safety net around the mat?

Used as: top-level split, filter. Data: on the listing, backfill cost none. Look for it as: title or bullets, e.g. 'with enclosure net' or 'no net'.

### Mat size

The jumping mat's diameter (round) or longest span (other shapes), separate from the wider frame-plus-net footprint. Bigger generally means a better bounce and room for more than one jumper's weight, but it also sets how much yard has to be cleared and anchored. Round models in the 12 to 15 ft range are the common family size today, by both a brand's own size list and a specialist reviewer's testing focus. [8] [7]

Range: 6 to 20 ft. 12 to 15 ft for most backyard families.
Question to ask: About how big do you want the mat?

Used as: filter, sortable, shown on the card. Data: on the listing, backfill cost none. Look for it as: title and a size selector/dropdown.
Chart: Size vs. structural capacity map.

### Installation type

Whether the frame sits on top of the lawn or is sunk into an excavated pit so the mat sits near ground level. In-ground installs change the whole project from a weekend assembly to landscaping and excavation work, and a specialist reviewer put the price gap at roughly $200 above-ground to over $20,000 for a premium in-ground install. [7]

Values: above_ground, in_ground.
Question to ask: On the lawn, or sunk into the ground?

Used as: filter, shown on the card. Data: needs research, backfill cost medium. Look for it as: stated on brand pages for lines that offer both; not confirmed on generic listings.

### Single-jumper weight limit

The maximum weight recommended for any one jumper, independent of how many people are on the mat. The American Academy of Pediatrics names jumpers of very different weights bouncing together as a leading injury pattern, so the single-jumper number is the one that should actually guide who gets on at once, not the total rating above. [8] [4] [11]

Range: 175 to 425 lb. 175 to 220 lb on backyard models; 225 to 425 lb on fitness rebounders.

Used as: filter, shown on the card. Data: needs research, backfill cost medium. Look for it as: spec bullets on brand sites; not confirmed on generic marketplace listings.
Confirmed on Springfree (175-220 lb by size). JumpSport's own summary says 225-325 lb, but its 48-inch PRO model is rated 425 lb; not confirmed on a live retail listing.

### Cord firmness

How stiff the elastic cords are on a fitness rebounder, from a soft, deep rebound to a quick, firm one. A softer cord gives a deeper, more joint-friendly rebound; a firmer one gives a quicker, more stable bounce for fast-paced routines. Some models let you adjust this across several settings instead of locking in one feel. [11]

Values: soft, medium, firm.
Question to ask: Soft, medium, or firm bounce?

Used as: shown on the card, filter. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: product name or bullets, e.g. 'PRO' or 'PREMIUM' tier.
Confirmed only on JumpSport's own buyer's-guide page, not a second brand or a live retail listing.

### Mat style

On a fitness rebounder, whether the mat is a flat skirt laid over the cords or individually padded petals over each cord. A skirt mat maximises usable jumping area; padded petals add comfort for routines where you put hands or lie on the mat, at some cost to that open area. [11]

Values: skirt, padded_petal.
Question to ask: Skirt-style mat, or padded petals?

Used as: shown on the card. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: product photos and bullets.
Confirmed only on JumpSport's own buyer's-guide page, not a second brand or a live retail listing.

### Tested max weight capacity

The total weight the frame and suspension are rated to hold, summed across every jumper on the mat. This is the structural ceiling, not a safety recommendation — the single-jumper rating below matters more day to day, since the leading cause of trampoline injury is more than one person jumping at once, especially jumpers of very different weights. [8] [10]

Range: 1300 to 1500 lb. 1,300 to 1,500 lb on full-size backyard models.

Used as: filter, shown on the card. Data: needs research, backfill cost medium. Look for it as: spec bullets on brand sites; not confirmed on generic marketplace listings.
Confirmed present on major-brand pages (Springfree, Skywalker); not confirmed on a live retail listing. Skywalker's 800-to-1,600-lb figure describes one model line's spring upgrade, not an observed catalog range, so it's not used as the stated min or max.
Chart: Size vs. structural capacity map.

### Meets ASTM F381/F2225

Whether the trampoline and its enclosure are stated as meeting the two voluntary US consumer-trampoline standards. This is the governing standard for the category. Major brands badge it visibly; several of the brands named in CPSC recalls for weld, strap or net failures were generic or budget labels where this register could not confirm an equivalent claim. [1] [2] [9]


Used as: filter, shown on the card. Data: on the listing, backfill cost medium. Look for it as: safety badge or bullet near the title on major-brand listings; often absent on generic/import listings.

### Springs inside or outside the net

Whether the springs and their padding sit inside the enclosure net (reachable mid-jump) or outside it (behind the net wall). A specialist reviewer flagged springs placed inside the net as 'a seemingly unnecessary safety hazard' on an otherwise well-reviewed model, and praised a cheaper model for keeping its springs outside the net. No listing names this; it only shows up in photos or a hands-on review. [7]

Values: outside_net, inside_net.

Used as: shown on the card, filter. Data: needs research, backfill cost high. Look for it as: not stated anywhere; visible only in product or review photos.
Needs a photo or review read per model. Backfill the top-N ranked models only.

### Spring count

How many springs connect the mat to the frame. A specialist reviewer measured a direct line from spring count to bounce quality (72 springs felt stiff and less bouncy, 96 gave the most satisfying jump of the 14 ft models tested), and a brand's own blog describes adding springs specifically to raise the rated weight capacity. [7] [10]

Range: 60 to 144 count. 72 to 96 on 14 ft backyard models.

Used as: shown on the card, sortable. Data: needs research, backfill cost high.
Only on spec sheets and reviews, not generic listings; the 144-spring figure is one larger, non-14-ft model (Berg Grand Champion), not the 14 ft typical band. Backfill the top-N ranked models and leave the rest unknown.
Chart: Spring bounce bar.

### Spring length

The length of each spring, measured end to end. Longer springs store more energy per jump. A specialist reviewer measured 5.5 in. springs on the stiffest, least-bouncy budget model and 8.5 in. springs on the model with the most satisfying bounce of the ones tested. [7]

Range: 5.5 to 8.5 in. 6.5 to 7.1 in. on mid-range models.

Used as: shown on the card, sortable. Data: needs research, backfill cost high.
Only on spec sheets and reviews. Backfill the top-N ranked models and leave the rest unknown.
Chart: Spring bounce bar.

### Spring pad thickness

The thickness of the padding covering the springs and frame edge. Padding over the springs is what ASTM F381 actually drop-tests, and thickness varies a lot between models a reviewer measured directly: 15 mm on a mid-range pick versus 25 mm on a pricier one. [7] [1]

Range: 15 to 25 mm. 15 to 20 mm on mid-range models.

Used as: shown on the card, sortable. Data: needs research, backfill cost high.
Only measured by reviewers, not stated on listings. Backfill the top-N ranked models.

## Numbers worth computing

| Metric | Formula | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Cost per square foot of jump area ($/sqft) | `price / jumping_mat_area_sqft` | Normalises price across shapes better than the advertised size alone, since an oval or rectangular mat can carry noticeably more or less jumping area than a round one of the same marketed footprint. [8] |
| Jumpers the frame is rated for at once (jumpers (structural rating, not a safety recommendation)) | `tested_weight_capacity / per_user_weight_limit` | Shows how many average-weight jumpers the frame can structurally hold, even though the AAP and most manufacturers' own instructions say only one person should be on the mat at a time. [8] [4] |

## What you give up

- Removing the springs removes the pinch points and strap failures behind several CPSC recalls, but a rod-based trampoline costs as much as the priciest spring models of the same size, and a specialist reviewer called assembly 'almost prohibitively difficult' without professional help. [8] [7] [3] Board branch: "no exposed springs".
- Longer springs in greater numbers give a noticeably bigger, smoother bounce by a reviewer's own measurements, but they sit on bigger, pricier frames, and a heavier trampoline is harder for two people to assemble alone. [7] [10] Board branch: "bigger bounce".
- Sinking the frame into the ground removes the fall height below the mat, but it runs into the tens of thousands of dollars for landscaping and excavation, against a few hundred dollars and a weekend to put up an above-ground model. [7]

## How to draw it

**Size vs. structural capacity map** (two axis map, shows Mat size, Tested max weight capacity). Plots trampolines by footprint against total rated weight, so a big mat on a frame built for a crowd stands apart from a big mat on a frame that is not. This is a proposal, nobody draws it this way yet. [8]

**Spring bounce bar** (bar, shows Spring length, Spring count). Bars spring length against spring count side by side, the two numbers a specialist reviewer actually measured in place of marketing language like 'high bounce.' This is a proposal, nobody draws it this way yet. [7]

## Words you will meet

- **Enclosure net**. The webbed wall around the mat meant to catch a jumper before they go over the edge.
- **V-ring**. The small steel loop sewn to the mat's edge that each spring hooks onto.
- **Galvanized steel**. Zinc-coated steel that resists rust, the standard frame material on nearly every spring-based trampoline.
- **Springless (rod) design**. A patented suspension using flexible composite rods hidden under the mat instead of exposed metal springs.
- **ASTM F381 / F2225**. The two US voluntary standards covering a trampoline's build (F381) and its enclosure net as a separate accessory (F2225).
- **Bed / jumping mat**. The fabric you actually jump on, smaller than the trampoline's full footprint once the frame and net are counted.

## Where we made a call

- Full-size trampolines are not meant for children under six. (confidence high). ASTM F381's own scope states this, and the CPSC repeats it according to a specialist reviewer who interviewed the standard's own authors. [1] [7]
- Nets and spring pads do not reliably stop trampoline injuries. (confidence medium). Sources disagree. AAP calls them a 'false sense of security' and says home use should be discouraged; brands market nets and pads as the main safety upgrade. We side with AAP: it reviewed the injury data, brands did not. [4] [7] [10]
- Springfree's '90% of injuries eliminated' figure is a brand claim, not a finding. (confidence low). Sources disagree. The academic study behind it only found 'a significantly lower proportion' of equipment injuries, using the manufacturer's own customer list; no source we read gives a 90% figure independently. [9] [6]
- Most trampoline injuries happen with more than one jumper on the mat. (confidence medium). Single-sourced to the AAP's own 2012 policy statement; we could not find an independent study stating this specific pattern, only the overall injury-count data in a separate 2022 NEISS study. [4] [5]
- An enclosure net is a separate ASTM standard, not a mandatory trampoline part. (confidence high). F2225 explicitly covers enclosures 'to be sold as an accessory to or packaged with' an F381 trampoline; one specialist review states ASTM 'mandates... an enclosure,' which overstates this. [2] [7]

## References

1. [ASTM F381, Standard Safety Specification for Components, Assembly, Use, and Labeling of Consumer Trampolines](https://www.astm.org/f0381-24.html) (standards body). Supports: Minimum bed size and height, single-user home scope, water trampolines excluded; Not recommended for children under six years of age; Frame padding and drop/shock-attenuation testing requirements; A trampoline ladder shall not be included.
2. [ASTM F2225, Standard Safety Specification for Consumer Trampoline Enclosures](https://www.astm.org/f2225-15r20.html) (standards body). Supports: Enclosure nets are a separate standard, sold as an accessory to or packaged with an F381 trampoline.
3. [CPSC SaferProducts.gov recall records matching 'trampoline'](https://www.saferproducts.gov/RestWebServices/Recall?RecallTitle=trampoline&format=json) (regulator). Supports: Weld, strap, net and bungee-cord failures recur across brands and 25+ years; A 2026 toddler-trampoline recall for accessory-strap strangulation.
4. [Briskin & LaBotz for the AAP Council on Sports Medicine and Fitness, 'Trampoline safety in childhood and adolescence,' Pediatrics 2012](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/23008455/) (academic). Supports: Most injuries occur with multiple simultaneous users; Safety measures have not been shown to substantially mitigate risk; home use discouraged.
5. [Hussein et al., 'Trampoline Injuries in Children and Adolescents: A Jumping Threat,' Pediatr Emerg Care 2022](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/34339161/) (academic). Supports: 800,969 NEISS-recorded injuries 2009-2018; 36,789 (4.6%) hospitalised; 54.2% at home.
6. [Eager et al., 'Survey of injury sources for a trampoline with equipment hazards designed out,' J Paediatr Child Health 2012](https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/22404557/) (academic). Supports: Only supports 'a significantly lower proportion' of equipment-related injuries, not a specific percentage.
7. [Burt Helm, 'The 3 Best Trampolines,' Wirecutter (NYT)](https://www.nytimes.com/wirecutter/reviews/best-trampoline/) (specialist review). Supports: CPSC age-6 floor restated independently of ASTM; Measured spring length, count, pad thickness and inside/outside-net placement; Above-ground vs. in-ground price range and assembly difficulty; Paraphrases the AAP statement and the 2022 NEISS injury totals.
8. [Springfree Trampoline, Compare Trampoline Models (spec table)](https://springfreetrampoline.com/pages/compare-trampolines) (spec sheet). Supports: Per-model price, footprint, jumping surface area, tested max and single-jumper weight capacity.
9. [Springfree Trampoline, Safety page](https://springfreetrampoline.com/pages/safety) (other). Supports: Composite-rod, hidden-frame design claims; The unsourced '90% of injuries eliminated' marketing claim.
10. [Skywalker Trampolines, 'The Type of Trampoline That's Best for You and Your Budget' blog post](https://www.skywalkertrampolines.com/blogs/news/the-type-of-trampoline-thats-best-for-you-and-your-budget) (spec sheet). Supports: Adding 12 springs raised rated capacity from 800 to 1,600 lb; No-gap enclosure net design and 'never sell without a net' brand policy.
11. [JumpSport, Fitness Trampoline Buyer's Guide](https://www.jumpsport.com/pages/jumpsport-fitness-trampoline-buyers-guide) (spec sheet). Supports: Rebounders use elastic cords, not springs, rated 225-325 lb; Cord-knot firmness system and skirt vs. padded-petal mat styles.
