# Pressure Cookers & Canners

Start with the food. Meals need a pressure cooker; canned vegetables, beans and meat need a pressure canner that holds at least four quart jars; jams and pickles need a water-bath or steam canner. For cookers, a spring valve is quieter and loses less liquid than a rocking weight. For canners, a weighted gauge needs no yearly test.

## How it works

A pressure cooker is a pot whose lid locks and seals, so steam from the boiling liquid builds pressure instead of escaping. Water boils hotter under pressure: at 15 psi above the outside air it boils at about 121 °C (250 °F), against 100 °C in an open pot. That heat is what cuts cooking times, and what makes canning low-acid food safe, because botulism spores survive boiling water but die at 240 to 250 °F. A valve holds the set pressure, either a weight that lifts and vents steam or a spring that stays shut. Backup valves and a lid lock stop it opening under pressure. A pressure canner is the same machine sized for jars, with a gauge to show the pressure. Water-bath and steam canners are not pressurised: they hold jars at boiling point, which is only enough for acid foods such as jam and pickles. [1] [20] [9] [4]

| Family | What it is | Suits |
|---|---|---|
| Spring-valve pressure cooker | A sealed valve that barely vents and shows pressure on a rising rod, usually with high and low settings. | Everyday stovetop cooking; most European makers. |
| Weighted-valve pressure cooker | A weight on a vent pipe that rocks, jiggles or whistles as it lets out steam to hold one pressure. | Simple, lower-priced cookers; Presto in the US, Hawkins and most Indian cookers. |
| Pressure canner | A large pressure vessel that holds at least four quart jars upright, with a dial or weighted gauge. | Canning vegetables, beans, meat, stock and fish. |
| Boiling-water canner | A deep, unpressurised pot with a jar rack, filled so water covers the jars by at least an inch. | Jams, jellies, pickles, fruit and acidified tomatoes. |
| Atmospheric steam canner | A shallow base of water under a domed lid; jars sit in flowing steam at boiling point. | The same acid foods as a water bath, with processing of 45 minutes or less. |

## How an expert narrows the choice

```mermaid
timeline
  section 1 · Vessel type
    Pressure cooker : ask Pressure valve, Capacity, Body material : skip Canner gauge, Pint jars per load, Quart jars per load, Big enough to pressure can
    Pressure canner : ask Pint jars per load, Canner gauge, Stove compatibility, Safety listing : skip Pressure valve
    Water-bath or steam canner : ask Quart jars per load, Stove compatibility : skip Canner gauge, Pressure valve, Cooking pressure, Pressure settings, Lid seal, Big enough to pressure can
  section 2 · Pressure valve
    Spring valve : ask Cooking pressure, Pressure settings
    Weighted valve : ask Cooking pressure, Pressure settings
  section 3 · Canner gauge
    Above 1,000 feet, or willing to test a gauge yearly?
```

1. **Vessel type.** Weeknight meals, canning vegetables or meat, or only jams and pickles?
   Food acidity decides the vessel, and USDA treats the wrong one as a botulism risk. Answers map one to one: meals to pressure cooker, vegetables or meat to pressure canner, jams and pickles to water-bath or steam canner.
   If Pressure cooker: ask Pressure valve, Capacity, Body material; skip Canner gauge, Pint jars per load, Quart jars per load, Big enough to pressure can.
   If Pressure canner: ask Pint jars per load, Canner gauge, Stove compatibility, Safety listing; skip Pressure valve.
   If Water-bath or steam canner: ask Quart jars per load, Stove compatibility; skip Canner gauge, Pressure valve, Cooking pressure, Pressure settings, Lid seal, Big enough to pressure can.
   Skip if already known: a query naming the vessel, such as 'pressure canner', 'water bath canner' or 'pressure cooker', a query naming the food to be canned (green beans, venison, salsa).

2. **Pressure valve.** Quiet spring valve, or a classic weight that rocks and hisses?
   Cookers only. It is how Hip Pressure Cooking sorts stovetop cookers, and it follows the maker, so one answer removes whole brands. 'Quiet spring valve' keeps Spring valve; 'weight that rocks' keeps Weighted valve.
   If Spring valve: ask Cooking pressure, Pressure settings.
   If Weighted valve: ask Cooking pressure, Pressure settings.
   Skip if already known: a query naming a maker whose cookers use one valve type (Presto, Hawkins: weighted; Kuhn Rikon, Fissler, WMF: spring).

3. **Canner gauge.** Above 1,000 feet, or willing to test a gauge yearly?
   Pressure canners only. Altitude and willingness to test yearly decide the gauge: low altitude and no testing keeps Weighted gauge; willing to test, or needing finer altitude steps, keeps Dial gauge or Weighted gauge plus dial.
   Skip if already known: a query naming a canner line (All American: weighted gauge plus dial; Presto 16 and 23 quart: dial gauge).

## What to surface

### Vessel type

Whether the product is a pressure cooker for meals, a pressure canner for jars, or an unpressurised water-bath or steam canner. This is the safety split. USDA says low-acid foods (meat, fish, milk and all fresh vegetables except most tomatoes; pH above 4.6) must go in a pressure canner holding at least four quart jars. Jams, pickles, fruit and acidified tomatoes can go in a water-bath canner, which USDA calls faster, or a steam canner capped at 45 minutes. USDA has no canning times for ordinary pressure cookers, so a cooker is for meals only. [1] [2] [4] [16]

Values: Pressure cooker, Pressure canner, Water-bath or steam canner.
Question to ask: Weeknight meals, canning vegetables or meat, or only jams and pickles?

Used as: top-level split, filter. Data: on the listing, backfill cost low. Look for it as: In the product name on every maker page read: 'Pressure Cooker', 'Pressure Canner and Cooker', 'Water Bath Canner', 'Steam Canner'.
A product sold as a cooker/canner is a pressure canner only if usda_canner_size is true; that value cannot be read from the title alone, since sellers also call 3 to 8 quart stovetop cookers 'canners'. A buyer who wants both meals and canning should get Pressure canner, since USDA says it may also process acid foods and no other vessel here does both safely. A stockpot sold with a jar rack as a water-bath canner is in this leaf; the same pot sold as a stockpot belongs to the saucepans leaf. Out of scope: electric pressure or water-bath canners (belong under electric_cookers, though that leaf's label does not name canners), steam juicers, and canner racks or gaskets sold alone (accessories).

### Pressure valve

How a stovetop cooker holds its pressure: a spring valve that stays shut and shows pressure on a rising rod, or a weight that rocks or whistles as it lets steam out. Spring valves barely vent, so they need less heat, lose less liquid and usually offer high and low settings. Weighted valves vent the whole time: louder, more evaporation, and Hip Pressure Cooking says the temperature dips with each release. Wikipedia and Hip agree on the venting difference. Presto and Hawkins sell weighted cookers; Hip says Kuhn Rikon, Fissler, WMF and Fagor make only spring valves. [12] [11] [13] [9] [20] [26]

Values: Spring valve, Weighted valve.
Question to ask: Quiet spring valve, or a classic weight that rocks and hisses?

Used as: top-level split, filter. Data: needs research, backfill cost medium. Look for it as: Brand pages and manuals describe it ('pressure regulator will begin to rock', 'vent weight (whistle)', 'pressure indicator' with rings); titles rarely say.
Infer from the maker for the brands named above, then check the manual for makers that sell both (Hip names Magefesa). A long tail of budget brands (such as MICHELANGELO, Barton, IMUSA) has no public maker mapping and rarely an online manual; research per model rather than per brand. Canners are not classed here; use gauge_type.

### Canner gauge

How a pressure canner shows and controls pressure: a weighted gauge that rocks at 5, 10 or 15 psi, a dial gauge you read and hold by adjusting the heat, or both. USDA says weighted gauges control pressure precisely and need no accuracy checks, but above 1,000 ft they jump straight to the next weight (10 psi to 15, skipping the 11 to 14 a dial would use). Dial gauges step pressure by 1 psi per altitude band, but must be checked every year and replaced if off by more than 2 psi. Presto's standard canners are dial-gauge; All American pairs a weighted regulator with a monitoring dial. [1] [19] [23]

Values: Dial gauge, Weighted gauge, Weighted gauge plus dial.
Question to ask: Above 1,000 feet, or willing to test a gauge yearly?

Used as: top-level split, filter. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Maker pages: 'pressure gauge registers a complete range of processing pressures' (dial) or '5, 10, 15 psi' regulator weights.
One lookup per canner line for established makers (Presto, All American, Hawkins). Many no-name 19 to 32 quart canners pair a dial with a regulator that only caps pressure, printed near 15 psi, rather than swappable weights; classify these as 'Dial gauge', the same pattern as Presto's own canner manual describes, and flag any whose printed cap reads below 15 psi against USDA's altitude schedule.

### Capacity

The vessel's total liquid volume in quarts or litres, as printed in its name. Food fills only part of it: makers and reviewers cap fill at two-thirds, and at half for beans, grains and soup, because foam can block the valve. Hip Pressure Cooking's rule is about one quart per person and the smallest pot that fits, since bigger pots take longer to reach pressure and need more liquid; Hawkins' size chart gives similar head counts. Imported cookers are sized in litres, so a '6 quart' may be 6 litres. [12] [11] [13] [26] [20] [9]

Range: Cookers run about 1.5 to 12 litres, with 6 to 8 quarts the standard family size; the smallest canner read is 10.5 quarts.
Question to ask: Cooking for one or two, about four, or six plus?

Used as: filter, sortable. Data: on the listing, backfill cost none. Look for it as: In the product name ('6-Quart', '23-Quart', '5 Litre'); Presto adds litres in brackets.
These bands are ours, applying Hip's one-quart-per-person rule as a target; Hip's own sizes page puts a family of four in 6 to 8 quarts, not 4 to 6. Map: one or two to 2 to 4 quarts, about four to 6 to 8, six plus to 8 or more. Keep litres as stated rather than relabelling them quarts.
Chart: Fill lines.

### Body material

What the pot is made of: plain aluminium, hard-anodised aluminium, stainless steel with an aluminium-clad base, or enamelled steel. Stainless with a clad base works on induction, goes in the dishwasher and does not react with tomato or wine. Plain aluminium is lighter and cheaper but reacts with acid, cannot go in the dishwasher and usually fails on induction; Presto's aluminium cooker costs about 40 percent less than its stainless one. Aluminium is common but not universal: USDA names porcelain-covered steel for water-bath canners, and stainless pressure canners exist. FDA warned in 2024 that imported aluminium cookware leaches lead. [21] [22] [9] [12] [7] [8]

Values: Aluminium, Hard-anodised aluminium, Stainless steel, Enamel on steel.
Question to ask: Stainless steel, or lighter aluminium?

Used as: filter, shown on the card. Data: on the listing, backfill cost low. Look for it as: In the product name ('6-Quart Stainless Steel Pressure Cooker', 'Aluminum', 'Enamel Water Bath Canner'); Hawkins names 'Hard Anodised' lines.
Flag unbranded cast-aluminium cookers from Afghanistan-style makers: King County found them leaching lead far above FDA reference levels, including ones sold on Amazon.

### Stove compatibility

Which hobs the vessel works on safely: gas, electric coil, glass or ceramic smooth-top, induction. Induction needs a magnetic base, so plain aluminium is usually out, though many canners now ship induction-ready; Presto calls its clad-base 23-quart the only full-size induction canner it makes. On glass tops the risk is weight: a loaded 16 to 23 quart canner can top 40 to 50 lb, and All American's two largest are too heavy and wide. USDA wants a flat-bottomed water-bath canner on electric ranges, no more than 4 inches wider than the element. [18] [22] [19] [25] [1] [15]

Values: Gas, Electric coil, Glass or ceramic smooth-top, Induction.
Question to ask: Gas, electric coil, glass-top, or induction?

Used as: filter. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Feature bullets on maker pages ('Works on gas, electric, smooth-top, and induction ranges'); glass-top weight limits sit in manuals and size charts.
Multi-valued. Treat an aluminium body with no stated clad or induction base as not induction. For canners over about 25 quarts, check the maker's glass-top note.

### Big enough to pressure can

Whether the vessel holds at least four quart jars standing upright on the rack with the lid on, USDA's minimum for a pressure canner. USDA process times were worked out in canners like today's 16-quart or larger models. Smaller cookers heat up and cool down faster, so jars get less total heat and low-acid food can be underprocessed. Large stovetop cookers that pass are sold as cooker/canners. All American's smallest, the 10.5-quart 910, holds 4 quart jars both regular and wide mouth, by the maker's own size table. [1] [2] [3] [24]


Used as: filter. Data: needs research, backfill cost high. Look for it as: Derived from jar_capacity_quarts of 4 or more, plus a dial or weighted gauge, but no canner title in the market states a jar count, so this has to be looked up rather than read off the listing.
Never take a maker's 'canning' claim alone: NCHFP does not support canning in electric multicookers with canning buttons. Large cookers rarely state jar counts, so research the top sellers in 10 quart and up.
Chart: Jars per load.

### Quart jars per load

How many quart jars fit in one load, standing upright on the rack. This is the batch size for vegetables and meat, and USDA's test for whether a pot counts as a canner. USDA says most canners are designed for seven quart jars. Presto's 16 and 23 quart canners and All American's 15.5 to 25 quart models all hold 7; only All American's 30 and 41.5 quart models hold 14 and 22. For a water bath, the pot must be deep enough to cover quart jars by an inch. [1] [16] [17] [25] [24]

Range: Most full-size canners hold 7 quarts; small canners hold 4.

Used as: filter, sortable. Data: needs research, backfill cost medium. Look for it as: Canner pages list 'Mason Jar Capacity' (Presto) or a jar chart (All American); cooker pages do not; no no-name canner title states a jar count.
Use regular-mouth jars and the pressure method; wide-mouth counts can be lower. Half-gallon counts are not usable for pressure canning, since USDA has times for pint and quart jars only.
Chart: Jars per load.

### Pint jars per load

How many pint jars fit in one load; taller canners stack pints in two layers on a second rack. Height, not quart count, separates the big canners. Presto's 16 and 23 quart canners both take 7 quarts, but 10 against 20 regular pints; USDA describes the same pattern. So the taller canner only pays off for someone who puts up pints and half-pints. Water-bath and steam canners take a single layer, and so does a pressure canner used as a water bath. [16] [17] [25] [5]


Used as: shown on the card, sortable. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Next to the quart count in the maker's jar capacity line or chart.
Record regular-mouth pints under pressure; Presto's sheet shows 20 regular but 16 wide-mouth pints in the 23-quart.
Chart: Jars per load.

### Pressure settings

How many cooking pressures the cooker offers, usually high and low. Low pressure suits fish, eggs, tender vegetables and pasta; high suits meat, beans and stock. Hip Pressure Cooking says a cooker should have at least two and that settings beyond that have no recipes written for them. Wikipedia says spring-valve cookers have two or more, while older weighted cookers often had one, though some take extra weights. [12] [9] [14]

Values: One, Two (high and low), Three or more.

Used as: shown on the card. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: In feature bullets ('two pressure settings') or shown as rings on the indicator in the manual.

### Safety listing

Which safety certification the cooker or canner carries: UL listing in the US (UL 136 names cookers, not canners, but USDA requires UL-approved canners), CE marking in Europe, the ISI mark from the Bureau of Indian Standards in India. UL 136 covers household pressure cookers and sauce pans up to a nominal 15 psi on gas or electric burners; its own scope does not name canners. USDA's canning guide tells buyers to use only UL-approved canners, so UL coverage of canners rests on USDA's requirement, not a stated UL 136 scope. Hip Pressure Cooking says cookers over 20 years old lack modern safety backups. [6] [1] [26] [12]

Values: UL listed, CE marked, ISI marked, Not stated.

Used as: shown on the card, filter. Data: needs research, backfill cost medium. Look for it as: A UL or ISI mark in the images or a line in the description; Hawkins states UL, CE and ISI in its catalogue.
Check the UL product directory for the top sellers only; treat 'Not stated' on a no-name import as a warning, not proof of a problem.

### Cooking pressure

The pressure above the outside air at which the cooker cooks on its highest setting, in psi; 1 bar is about 14.5 psi. Higher pressure means a hotter boil: 15 psi gives about 121 °C (250 °F), which is what makes cooking fast and low-acid canning possible. US recipes and USDA canning assume up to 15 psi, UL 136's ceiling. Some European cookers run lower, by Hip's account 13 to 14.5 psi for spring-valve types, so dense foods need longer. Hip Pressure Cooking warns that a printed valve figure may be where it releases rather than where it cooks, whatever the valve type. [6] [1] [20] [9] [10]

Range: US cookers and canners top out at 15 psi; canner weights also give 5 and 10.

Used as: shown on the card, filter. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: In the manual, on the base or valve, or as bar or kPa on European pages; All American lists '5, 10, 15 psi' on the product page.
Convert bar or kPa to psi. Prefer the manual's operating pressure over a valve or release figure, and say which one was found.
Chart: Pressure and boiling point.

### Lid seal

How the lid seals: a silicone or rubber gasket (sealing ring), or machined metal-to-metal with no gasket. The gasket is the part that wears out, and a dried or nicked ring leaks steam, per USDA. Replacement advice varies: Presto says at least every two years for cookers and three for canners, Hip Pressure Cooking 18 to 24 months, Wikipedia about yearly. All American canners seal metal to metal, so there is no ring to buy. Either way, the maker needs to sell parts. [1] [20] [19] [12] [9] [23]

Values: Gasket (sealing ring), Metal-to-metal (no gasket).

Used as: shown on the card. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Named only when there is no gasket ('metal-to-metal sealing system'); otherwise assume a gasket and check the parts list.

## Numbers worth computing

| Metric | Formula | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Usable volume (qt) | `capacity_qt × 2/3 for most food; capacity_qt × 1/2 for beans, grains, rice and soup` | The fill limit is a safety rule written into manuals, so a 6-quart cooker holds about 4 quarts of stew and 3 of beans. That is the number to compare with how much the buyer cooks. [20] [13] [9] |
| People served (people) | `capacity in quarts or litres ≈ maximum people per meal` | Hip Pressure Cooking's one quart per person is a ceiling; Hawkins' chart allows slightly more people per litre. Either way it turns a volume into the question buyers actually ask. [12] [26] |

## What you give up

- A spring valve is quiet, needs little heat and keeps the liquid in, but it is often a proprietary part hidden in the lid. A rocking weight is loud and boils off more, but it is a plain weight on a pipe. [9] [13] [11] Board branch: "See more spring-valve cookers".
- Bigger pots take longer to reach pressure, need more liquid and are harder to wash and store. Buy the smallest that fits the household, plus a second pot if needed. [11] [12] Board branch: "See more small pressure pans".
- A weighted gauge needs no testing and no watching, but above 1,000 ft it jumps straight to the next weight, 10 psi to 15, with no step between. A dial gauge tracks altitude in 1 psi steps but must be tested every year. [1] [19] Board branch: "See more weighted-gauge canners".
- A taller canner doubles the pints per load without adding a single quart, and it is heavier and harder to fit on a glass top or under a hood. [16] [17] [19] [25] Board branch: "See more double-stack canners".
- A metal-to-metal seal means no gasket to replace, but it comes in heavy cast aluminium: All American's 21.5-quart weighs 18 lb empty against about 10 lb for Presto's 23-quart. [23] [25] [16] Board branch: "See more gasket-free canners".
- Stainless works on induction and in the dishwasher and does not react with acid. Plain aluminium is lighter and cheaper but usually gives up all three; Hawkins sells hard-anodised aluminium cookers with an induction-ready base as a middle option. [21] [22] [9] [26] Board branch: "See more stainless cookers".

## How to draw it

**Pressure and boiling point** (scale, shows Cooking pressure). One horizontal psi scale with the boiling temperature under each mark (0 psi 100 °C, 10 psi about 116 °C, 15 psi about 121 °C), with the 240 °F canning line marked. It shows why a lower-pressure cooker cooks slower and why only pressure canners are safe for low-acid food. Used today by Pressure–temperature tables in Wikipedia and Hip Pressure Cooking; USDA's 240 to 250 °F canning band.. [9] [10] [1]

**Jars per load** (bar, shows Quart jars per load, Pint jars per load, Big enough to pressure can). Paired bars per canner, quarts beside pints, with a line at four quarts. It shows at a glance that most canners hold the same 7 quarts and differ only in stacked pints. Used today by Canner makers' jar charts (Presto spec sheet, All American comparison chart).. [16] [25]

**Fill lines** (other, shows Capacity). A pot outline with lines at half and two-thirds, labelled with usable quarts. It turns the advertised size into how much food actually goes in. Used today by Fill-line diagrams in Presto's manual and Hip Pressure Cooking's capacity chart.. [20] [13]

## Words you will meet

- **psi**. Pounds per square inch of pressure above the outside air; 15 psi is about one extra atmosphere.
- **Low-acid food**. Food with a pH above 4.6, such as meat, beans and most vegetables, which only a pressure canner can can safely.
- **Acid food**. Food with a pH of 4.6 or below, such as fruit, jam, pickles and tomatoes with added lemon juice.
- **Botulism**. A rare, often fatal poisoning from a toxin made by bacteria whose spores survive boiling water in sealed low-acid jars.
- **Pressure canner**. A large pressure vessel with a gauge that holds at least four quart jars upright.
- **Water-bath canner**. A deep pot with a rack that boils jars under at least an inch of water.
- **Steam canner**. A shallow pot with a domed lid that heats jars in flowing steam instead of submerging them.
- **Spring valve**. A valve held shut by a spring that shows pressure on a rising rod and lets out little steam.
- **Jiggler or rocker**. A weight sitting on the vent pipe that lifts and rocks as steam escapes to hold the pressure.
- **Dial gauge**. A needle gauge on a canner lid that reads the pressure in psi.
- **Weighted gauge**. A canner weight set to 5, 10 or 15 psi that rocks to hold that pressure.
- **Venting**. Letting steam pour out of the open vent for 10 minutes before pressurising a canner, to push out air.
- **Gasket or sealing ring**. The silicone or rubber ring in the lid that makes the seal.
- **Overpressure plug**. A small rubber plug in the lid that pops out to release steam if the main valve blocks.
- **Double-stacking**. Loading a second layer of pint jars on a rack above the first in a tall pressure canner.
- **Clad base**. A bottom made of aluminium sealed between stainless steel layers, which spreads heat and works on induction.

## Where we made a call

- Do not pressure can in an ordinary pressure cooker; USDA times only hold in a stovetop canner taking at least four quart jars. (confidence high). USDA, two NCHFP notices and Hip Pressure Cooking agree. Some makers print canning directions for small cookers; NCHFP says to take those up with the maker. [1] [2] [11]
- Electric multicookers with canning buttons are not safe for USDA canning recipes, whatever the box says. (confidence high). NCHFP (2019) and UW–Madison Extension (2020) both say so. These appliances belong to the electric cookers leaf, but buyers ask about them here. [3] [5]
- Atmospheric steam canners are acceptable for acid foods processed for 45 minutes or less. (confidence high). Sources disagree. USDA's 2015 guide says steam canners are not recommended pending research. NCHFP (2020) and UW–Madison, citing the 2015 Food Protection Trends study, now accept them under conditions. We side with the newer research. [1] [4] [5]
- Weighted-gauge canners are the simpler choice at low altitude; dial gauges suit high altitude if tested yearly. (confidence high). Ours, from USDA's description of each: weighted gauges need no accuracy checks but jump to 15 psi above 1,000 ft; dial gauges step by altitude but must be tested. [1] [19]
- For everyday stovetop cooking, a spring-valve cooker is the better buy than a weighted one. (confidence medium). Hip Pressure Cooking recommends it outright; Wikipedia confirms the venting difference. No tester we could fetch measured both; Serious Eats and Wirecutter were unreachable. [12] [11] [9]
- A printed pressure figure compares loosely across makers, because some state where the valve releases rather than where it cooks. (confidence medium). One expert source (Hip Pressure Cooking) makes the distinction; UL 136 and USDA give 15 psi as a ceiling without it. Prefer the manual's operating pressure. [10] [6]
- Using a pressure canner as an everyday cooker is possible but awkward. (confidence medium). Sources disagree. Presto sells its 23-quart as 'handy as a large-capacity pressure cooker too'. Hip Pressure Cooking advises against it: bulky, aluminium, not designed for it. We side with Hip for daily meals. [16] [12]
- Avoid unbranded imported cast-aluminium pressure cookers; some leach lead into acidic food. (confidence high). FDA's December 2024 letter names imported aluminium cookware; King County's tests found Afghan-made aluminium pressure cookers bought on Amazon and Etsy far above FDA reference levels. [7] [8] [9]
- Replace the gasket on a schedule; sources disagree on how often, from yearly to every three years. (confidence medium). Sources disagree. Wikipedia says about yearly, Hip 18 to 24 months, Presto at least every 2 years for cookers and 3 for canners. Follow the maker and replace any ring that is hard or cracked. [9] [12] [20] [19]
- Where All American's retailer chart and the maker's own pages disagree on jar counts or weight, we follow the maker. (confidence high). Sources disagree. The retailer chart gives the 910 three wide-mouth quarts and the 941 nineteen quarts; the maker's own pages give four and twenty-two. We use the maker's figures throughout. [23] [24] [25]

## References

1. [USDA Complete Guide to Home Canning, Guide 1: Principles of Home Canning (2015 revision), NCHFP](https://nchfp.uga.edu/papers/guide/GUIDE01_HomeCan_rev0715.pdf) (regulator). Supports: Low-acid foods have pH above 4.6 and need a pressure canner.; Low-acid foods need 240 to 250 °F, reached at 10 to 15 psi.; Most canners hold seven quarts; small ones four; pressure saucepans not recommended.; Weighted gauges need no accuracy checks; above 1,000 ft use 10 instead of 5, 15 instead of 10.; Check dial gauges yearly; replace if off by more than 2 pounds.; Use only UL-approved canners; steam canners not recommended (2015).; Water-bath canners: flat bottom on electric ranges, at most 4 in wider than the element..
2. [NCHFP NewsFlash, Canning in Pressure Cookers (September 2015)](https://nchfp.uga.edu/newsflash/canning-in-pressure-cookers) (regulator). Supports: A USDA canner holds at least four quart jars upright with the lid on.; USDA processes were researched in canners like today's 16-quart or larger.; Small cookers have shorter come-up and cool-down times, risking underprocessing..
3. [NCHFP NewsFlash, Canning in Electric Multi-Cookers (February 2019)](https://nchfp.uga.edu/publications/nchfp/factsheets/electric_cookers.html) (regulator). Supports: NCHFP does not support USDA canning processes in multicookers with canning buttons.; Recommendations were set for stovetop canners holding four or more quart jars..
4. [NCHFP NewsFlash, Using Atmospheric Steam Canners (August 2020)](https://nchfp.uga.edu/newsflash/using-atmospheric-steam-canners) (regulator). Supports: Steam canners are for acid foods of pH 4.6 or below, not pressurised.; Processing must be 45 minutes or less, including altitude adjustment..
5. [University of Wisconsin–Madison Extension, A fresh look at steam canning (July 2020)](https://winnebago.extension.wisc.edu/2020/07/30/a-fresh-look-at-steam-canning/) (academic). Supports: Steam canning limited to 45 minutes and acid foods.; Jars are not stacked in steam or boiling-water canners.; Extension does not recommend multicookers for home canning..
6. [UL 136, Pressure Cookers (Edition 8, revised 11 March 2026), UL Standards & Engagement catalog page](https://www.shopulstandards.com/ProductDetail.aspx?productId=UL136) (standards body). Supports: Covers household pressure cookers at a nominal 15 psig (103 kPa) or less.; Intended for gas or electric-top burners; excludes pressure frying..
7. [FDA, Letter to retailers and distributors of cookware (12 December 2024)](https://www.fda.gov/food/environmental-contaminants-food/letter-retailers-and-distributors-cookware) (regulator). Supports: Some imported aluminium, brass and Hindalium cookware may leach lead into food..
8. [Public Health – Seattle & King County, Cookware that released lead above FDA recommended intake levels](https://cdn.kingcounty.gov/-/media/king-county/depts/dph/documents/health-safety/environmental-health/toxins/cookware-releasing-lead.pdf) (regulator). Supports: Aluminium pressure cookers from Afghanistan, bought on Amazon and Etsy, leached lead far above FDA reference levels..
9. [Wikipedia, Pressure cooking](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pressure_cooking) (primer). Supports: 15 psi gives 121 °C (250 °F); 10 psi about 116 °C.; Weighted valves vent during cooking; spring valves may not, with two or more settings.; Fill two-thirds, half for foaming foods; 6 litres common.; Gaskets need replacing about yearly.; Aluminium is cheaper, reactive to acid and not dishwasher safe..
10. [Hip Pressure Cooking, Pressure Cooker PSI FAQ](https://www.hippressurecooking.com/pressure-cooker-psi-faq-the-stuff-you-didnt-think-to-ask/) (enthusiast community). Supports: Operating pressure differs from valve release pressure.; European cookers are rated in bar or kPa; 1 bar is about 14.5 psi..
11. [Hip Pressure Cooking, Pressure Cooker Sizes and Types](https://www.hippressurecooking.com/pressure-cooker-sizes-and-types/) (enthusiast community). Supports: Buy the smallest cooker that fits; bigger ones are slower and need more liquid.; 6 to 8 quarts is the standard size for a family of four to six.; Presto makes only weighted cookers; Kuhn Rikon, Fagor, WMF, Fissler only spring valves..
12. [Hip Pressure Cooking, Pressure Cooker Buying Guide](https://www.hippressurecooking.com/pressure-cooker-buying-guide/) (enthusiast community). Supports: About one quart or litre per person.; Prefer spring valve, stainless steel and at least two pressure settings.; Gaskets last 18 to 24 months.; Does not recommend canners for everyday cooking; old cookers lack modern safety backups..
13. [Hip Pressure Cooking, Pressure Cooker Capacity FAQ](https://www.hippressurecooking.com/pressure-cooker-capacity-faq-if-it-fits-cook-it/) (enthusiast community). Supports: Fill half for beans and grains, two-thirds for everything else.; Weighted valves vent rhythmically and evaporate more liquid.; Imported 'quart' sizes are really litres..
14. [Hip Pressure Cooking, Kuhn Rikon Duromatic review](https://www.hippressurecooking.com/pressure-cooker-review-kuhn-rikon-duromatic-excellent/) (specialist review). Supports: A spring valve shows low and high pressure as rings on a rising indicator rod..
15. [Hip Pressure Cooking, 7 dos and don'ts of pressure cooking with induction](https://www.hippressurecooking.com/7-dos-donts-of-pressure-cooking-with-induction/) (enthusiast community). Supports: Induction heats by inducing current in the cookware base through a magnetic field..
16. [Presto 23-Quart Pressure Canner and Cooker 01781, product page and spec sheet](https://www.gopresto.com/uploads/SS_01781.pdf) (spec sheet). Supports: Holds 7 quarts, 20 regular or 16 wide-mouth pints under pressure.; Holds 10 pints in one layer as a boiling-water canner.; Aluminium, 10.32 lb out of box; sold as a large cooker too..
17. [Presto 16-Quart Pressure Canner 01755, product page](https://www.gopresto.com/product/presto-16-quart-pressure-canner-01755) (spec sheet). Supports: Holds 7 quarts and 10 pints, the same quarts as the 23-quart..
18. [Presto 23-Quart Induction Compatible Pressure Canner 01784, product page](https://www.gopresto.com/product/23-quart-induction-compatible-pressure-canner-with-stainless-steel-clad-base-01784) (spec sheet). Supports: Aluminium canner with stainless-clad base; maker calls it the only full-size induction canner..
19. [Presto Pressure Canner instruction book, models 01755 and 01781](https://www.gopresto.com/uploads/01755_01781_72_719M_Canner_Eng_Web_Inst_Book_CL%5B3%5D.pdf) (spec sheet). Supports: Dial gauge reads pressure; regulator only caps it at 15 pounds.; Have the dial gauge checked before each canning season.; Replace sealing ring and overpressure plug at least every 3 years.; Loaded 16-quart may exceed 40 lb, 23-quart 50 lb; check smooth-top limits.; Dial-gauge pressure steps 11, 12, 13, 14 lb by altitude..
20. [Presto stainless and aluminium pressure cooker instruction book (72-856D)](https://www.gopresto.com/uploads/72_856D_AL_SS_Cookers_Eng_Web_Instructions%5B5%5D.pdf) (spec sheet). Supports: 15 pounds of pressure gives 250 °F (121 °C).; Fill no more than two-thirds, half for foaming foods and soup.; Regulator rocks at operating pressure.; Replace sealing ring and overpressure plug at least every two years..
21. [Presto 6-Quart Stainless Steel Pressure Cooker 01362, product page](https://www.gopresto.com/product/6-quart-stainless-steel-pressure-cooker-01362) (spec sheet). Supports: Tri-clad base works on induction; dishwasher safe; $102.99..
22. [Presto 6-Quart Aluminum Pressure Cooker 01264, product page](https://www.gopresto.com/product/presto-6-quart-aluminum-pressure-cooker-01264) (spec sheet). Supports: Aluminium; gas, electric and smooth-top only, no induction or dishwasher; $59.99..
23. [All American 1930 (Wisconsin Aluminum Foundry), 921 Pressure Cooker/Canner product page](https://www.allamerican1930.com/products/the-921-pressure-cooker) (spec sheet). Supports: Cast aluminium with metal-to-metal seal, no gasket.; Weighted regulator at 5, 10, 15 psi plus a monitoring dial gauge.; Maker's own size table: 921 weighs 17.75 lb empty, holds 7 quarts.; Maker's own size table: 941 holds 22 quarts, not 19..
24. [All American 1930 (Wisconsin Aluminum Foundry), 910 Pressure Cooker/Canner product page](https://www.allamerican1930.com/products/the-910-pressure-cooker) (spec sheet). Supports: 910 holds 4 regular mouth and 4 wide mouth quart jars.; Maker's own size table: 941 holds 22 quarts; 921 weighs 17.75 lb empty..
25. [All American Canner Comparison Chart, Red Hill General Store (authorized retailer)](https://www.allamericancanner.com/All-American-Pressure-Canners-Comparison-Chart.htm) (retail listing). Supports: 910 holds 4 regular but 3 wide-mouth quarts; 915 to 925 hold 7; 930 14; 941 19.; Empty weights 12 to 34 lb; add 20 to 30 lb loaded for 910 to 925.; 930 and 941 too heavy and wide for glass-top stoves.; Contradicted by the maker's own pages on 910 wide-mouth count and 941 quarts..
26. [Hawkins Cookers pressure cooker catalogue (India)](https://www.hawkinscookers.com/download/PC_Catalog.pdf) (spec sheet). Supports: Sizes 1.5 to 12 litres with persons served, about one litre per person.; Weighted vent weight (whistle) valves.; UL listed, CE available, ISI certified..
