# Labels, Tabs & Laminating Supplies

What will print or seal it decides most of this catalog: a desk printer, a label maker, a thermal printer or a laminator each takes only its own supplies. Where the label lives (dry, wet, frozen, outdoors) picks paper or film, and whether it must peel off picks the adhesive. Direct thermal labels typically fade within a year.

## How it works

Everything here is a thin face layer on a sticky or heat-sealing back, and the thing that puts the image on it decides what you can buy. Sheet labels are paper or film on a peel-off backing, coated for either an inkjet or a laser printer. Label-maker tapes come in a cartridge that fits one brand's machines, and laminated tapes seal the print under clear film; phone label makers use their own sticker rolls instead. Thermal rolls either darken under the printer's hot head (direct thermal: no ribbon, fades with heat and light) or take melted ink from a ribbon (thermal transfer: lasts years). Laminating pouches are two plastic sheets whose inner glue melts in a heated laminator; cold pouches use pressure-sensitive glue and need no heat. Within a format, the face material decides what the label survives and the adhesive decides whether it ever comes off. [1] [6] [9] [17] [21] [13]

| Family | What it is | Suits |
|---|---|---|
| Printer sheet labels | Paper or film labels on letter or A4 sheets, laid out to a template code and coated for inkjet or laser. | Address labels, jar and product labels, file labels printed at home or in an office. |
| Label-maker tapes and rolls | Tape cartridges, or a phone label maker's own sticker rolls, made for one brand's machines; many tapes are laminated plastic. | Shelves, cables, tools, pantry bins. |
| Thermal label rolls | Rolls for thermal label printers, either heat-sensitive direct thermal stock or thermal transfer stock printed through a ribbon. | Shipping labels (direct thermal); barcodes, inventory and freezer labels that must last (thermal transfer). |
| Laminating pouches and film | Pre-cut clear sleeves or rolls that seal a document in plastic, by heat or by pressure. | Signs, menus, ID cards, classroom sheets. |
| Index tabs and write-on labels | Small adhesive tabs, page flags, tabbed index dividers and blank labels, mostly written on by hand. | Marking pages, files and boxes without a printer. |

## How an expert narrows the choice

```mermaid
timeline
  section 1 · Format (what prints or seals it)
    printer sheet labels : ask Inkjet or laser, Sheet template : skip Label-maker tape or roll system, Tape width, Thermal roll fit, Direct thermal or thermal transfer, Chipped genuine roll, BPA-free thermal coating, Pouch thickness, Hot or cold lamination, UV-resistant laminating film
    label-maker tape or roll : ask Label-maker tape or roll system, Tape width, Direct thermal or thermal transfer : skip Inkjet or laser, Sheet template, Thermal roll fit, Chipped genuine roll, Pouch thickness, Hot or cold lamination, UV-resistant laminating film
    thermal label roll : ask Thermal roll fit, Direct thermal or thermal transfer, Chipped genuine roll, Label or pouch size : skip Inkjet or laser, Sheet template, Label-maker tape or roll system, Tape width, Pouch thickness, Hot or cold lamination, UV-resistant laminating film
    laminating pouch or film : ask Hot or cold lamination, Pouch thickness, Label or pouch size : skip Inkjet or laser, Sheet template, Label-maker tape or roll system, Tape width, Thermal roll fit, Direct thermal or thermal transfer, Chipped genuine roll, BPA-free thermal coating, Face material
    write-on labels and tabs : skip Inkjet or laser, Sheet template, Label-maker tape or roll system, Tape width, Thermal roll fit, Direct thermal or thermal transfer, Chipped genuine roll, BPA-free thermal coating, Pouch thickness, Hot or cold lamination, UV-resistant laminating film
  section 2 · Rated environment
    water-resistant / waterproof : ask Face material
    freezer : ask Face material, Adhesive, Direct thermal or thermal transfer
    outdoors : ask Face material, Direct thermal or thermal transfer, UV-resistant laminating film
  section 3 · Adhesive
    Label stays for good, or peels off clean later?
```

1. **Format (what prints or seals it).** Desk printer, label maker, thermal printer, laminating, or by hand?
   Each machine takes only its own supplies, so one answer removes most families. Desk printer maps to sheets, label maker to tapes or phone-maker rolls, thermal printer to rolls, laminating (any machine or none) to pouches, by hand to write-on.
   If printer sheet labels: ask Inkjet or laser, Sheet template; skip Label-maker tape or roll system, Tape width, Thermal roll fit, Direct thermal or thermal transfer, Chipped genuine roll, BPA-free thermal coating, Pouch thickness, Hot or cold lamination, UV-resistant laminating film.
   If label-maker tape or roll: ask Label-maker tape or roll system, Tape width, Direct thermal or thermal transfer; skip Inkjet or laser, Sheet template, Thermal roll fit, Chipped genuine roll, Pouch thickness, Hot or cold lamination, UV-resistant laminating film.
   If thermal label roll: ask Thermal roll fit, Direct thermal or thermal transfer, Chipped genuine roll, Label or pouch size; skip Inkjet or laser, Sheet template, Label-maker tape or roll system, Tape width, Pouch thickness, Hot or cold lamination, UV-resistant laminating film.
   If laminating pouch or film: ask Hot or cold lamination, Pouch thickness, Label or pouch size; skip Inkjet or laser, Sheet template, Label-maker tape or roll system, Tape width, Thermal roll fit, Direct thermal or thermal transfer, Chipped genuine roll, BPA-free thermal coating, Face material.
   If write-on labels and tabs: skip Inkjet or laser, Sheet template, Label-maker tape or roll system, Tape width, Thermal roll fit, Direct thermal or thermal transfer, Chipped genuine roll, BPA-free thermal coating, Pouch thickness, Hot or cold lamination, UV-resistant laminating film.
   Skip if already known: owned_label_printer_model, owned_laminator, earlier_answer_format.

2. **Rated environment.** Dry indoors, splashes or fridge, soaking or ice, freezer, or outdoors?
   Paper fails in water, cold or sun, so any answer but dry indoors calls for film labels or, outdoors, UV-resistant pouches. Splashes or fridge maps to water-resistant; soaking or ice to waterproof. Legs never revive facets split 1 dropped.
   If water-resistant or waterproof: ask Face material.
   If freezer: ask Face material, Adhesive, Direct thermal or thermal transfer.
   If outdoors: ask Face material, Direct thermal or thermal transfer, UV-resistant laminating film.
   Skip if already known: earlier_answer_label_use.

3. **Adhesive.** Label stays for good, or peels off clean later?
   Removable glue is a different product line, not a setting. Stays for good maps to permanent (freezer-grade if the label goes in a freezer); peels off clean maps to removable or repositionable.
   Skip if already known: earlier_answer_label_use.

## What to surface

### Format (what prints or seals it)

Which machine or method the supply is made for: a desk printer, a label maker (handheld or phone-app, such as P-touch, LetraTag or Niimbot), a thermal label printer (roll printers such as DYMO LabelWriter or Zebra), laminating (hot or cold laminator, or self-seal sheets), or a pen. Supplies in this leaf are not interchangeable across machines. Inkjet and laser sheets need different coatings, label-maker cartridges and rolls fit one brand's system, thermal rolls need a thermal printer, and pouches need a hot or cold laminator, except self-seal sheets, which need none. Knowing the machine removes most of the catalog. [18] [21] [17] [1] [9] [28] [12] [14]

Values: printer sheet labels, label-maker tape or roll, thermal label roll, laminating pouch or film, write-on labels and tabs.
Question to ask: Desk printer, label maker, thermal printer, laminating, or by hand?

Used as: top-level split, filter. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Usually in the title ("for laser printers", "compatible with P-touch", "direct thermal", "laminating pouches"). Avery's own pages state the printer type in the spec strip.
Classify from the title and product type; retail listings were not fetched for this run, so presence on most listings is assumed from brand pages only.

### Rated environment

The conditions the maker says the label survives: dry indoors, water-resistant (splashes, condensation, fridge), waterproof (soaking, ice), freezer, or outdoors. Paper labels absorb moisture and peel, wrinkle or smear in fridges and coolers, so wet, oily, frozen or outdoor use needs plastic film. Avery separates water-resistant (splashes, condensation, light refrigeration) from waterproof (soaking, submersion, ice coolers). Freezer labels also need glue made for cold application, outdoor life differs a lot between films, and laminated signs outdoors need UV-resistant film. [21] [4] [2] [10]

Values: dry indoors, water-resistant, waterproof, freezer, outdoors.
Question to ask: Dry indoors, splashes or fridge, soaking or ice, freezer, or outdoors?

Used as: top-level split, filter. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Claims in titles and bullets: "waterproof", "water-resistant", "freezer", "weatherproof", "outdoor". Paper labels with no claim are dry indoors.
Map claim words to the five values and keep water-resistant and waterproof apart; never upgrade one to the other. Treat a paper face with no claim as dry indoors; leave a film label with no claim unset rather than defaulting it.
Chart: Paper, film, vinyl durability ladder.

### Adhesive

How the glue behaves: permanent, removable, repositionable, freezer-grade, or no adhesive at all. Permanent glue bonds to nearly any surface and usually needs soaking or scraping to remove. Removable glue peels off without residue, but Avery warns it bonds more strongly the longer it stays on. Most label glue is made to be applied near room temperature, so labelling cold surfaces needs freezer-grade or specialty adhesive. Sticky-back laminating pouches exist too. [20] [18] [32] [4] [31]

Values: permanent, removable, repositionable, freezer-grade, no adhesive.
Question to ask: Label stays for good, or peels off clean later?

Used as: top-level split, filter. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Avery spec strip says "Permanent-Adhesive" or "Removable"; titles often say "removable" or "freezer". Permanent is the unstated default.
Default to permanent only when the brand page is silent and the title has no removable or repositionable claim.

### Thermal roll fit

Which thermal label printer family a roll is made for, such as DYMO LabelWriter, Brother DK rolls for QL printers, or Zebra desktop printers. Rolls are sold by printer family, not just by size: one retailer sells the same 4 x 6 in shipping label as separate DYMO-compatible and Brother DK-compatible rolls, and lists Zebra rolls by Zebra model, while Phomemo names the printer models each roll fits. Knowing the printer removes most rolls. [30] [29] [25]

Values: DYMO LabelWriter, Brother DK, Zebra desktop, other.
Question to ask: Which label printer is the roll for?

Used as: filter. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Titles name the printer or the genuine part matched ("Dymo 1744907 Compatible", "Brother DK-1241 Compatible", "for M110/M120").
Parse the printer or part number from the title. Seen on two sellers' own sites (Betckey, Phomemo); marketplace listings were not checked.

### Chipped genuine roll

Whether a roll carries the RFID chip that DYMO LabelWriter 550 and 5XL printers read before they will print. The 550 and 5XL lock out many rolls without a genuine DYMO chip, so cheaper compatible rolls that work in a LabelWriter 450 can fail in them with a "genuine labels required" error. For a 550 owner this is a hard filter; for anyone else it is irrelevant. [8] [24] [25]

Question to ask: Is your printer a DYMO 550 or 5XL?

Used as: filter. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Genuine DYMO listings mention "550" compatibility; third-party rolls often say "not for 550" or "450 only".
True only for genuine DYMO LabelWriter rolls sold for the 5-series; treat third-party rolls as false unless the brand page claims 550 support.

### Inkjet or laser

Which kind of desk printer a sheet label is coated for: inkjet, laser, or both. Each sheet label material is designed for inkjet or laser, sometimes both, and the wrong pairing smears, prints poorly or damages the labels. Avery sells the same 30-up address layout as 5160 for laser and 8160 for inkjet, so the template number alone does not tell you the printer. [21] [18] [19]

Values: inkjet, laser, inkjet and laser.
Question to ask: Inkjet or laser printer?

Used as: filter. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Title ("for laser printers") and the Avery spec strip ("Laser" or "Inkjet" before "Template").

### Pouch thickness

How thick each sheet of a laminating pouch is, in mils (thousandths of an inch) or microns, which sets how stiff the finished item is. 3 mil stays flexible for binders, 5 mil is semi-rigid, and 10 mil feels like a credit card. Thicker pouches need more heat, and entry-level laminators are rated for 3 to 5 mil (80 to 125 microns) only, so a 10 mil pack can be useless to a home buyer. Wikipedia's wider range covers home and office machines together. Most guides read the number as per side, but some sellers mean the total. [10] [15] [9] [16]

Range: 3 to 10 mil. 3 and 5 mil are the everyday thicknesses; 7 and 10 mil are for stiff cards and signs.
Question to ask: Bendy like paper, stiff, or rigid like a card?

Used as: filter, sortable, shown on the card. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Title as "3 mil", "5 mil" or "80 micron", "125 micron"; MyBinding's pouch titles carried thickness in every row seen (one retailer). Sizing-adjacent field laminating.thickness_micron.
Answer mapping: bendy to 3 mil, stiff to 5 or 7 mil, rigid to 10 mil, capped at the owned laminator's rating (entry-level machines take 3 to 5 mil). Convert microns to mil by dividing by 25.4. Record "2 x 125" style labels as 125 per side.
Chart: Pouch thickness scale.

### Hot or cold lamination

Whether the pouch or film seals with heat in a hot laminator, or with pressure-sensitive glue and no heat (cold: film run through a cold roller laminator, or self-seal sheets pressed by hand). Heat ruins some items: thermal paper receipts and labels turn black, and dye-based inkjet prints can bleed or smear. Cold film avoids heat but still runs through a cold laminator, electric or hand-crank; only self-seal sheets need no machine. Hot lamination gives a clearer finish, and cold film cannot go through a hot laminator. [12] [13] [23] [7] [14]

Values: hot (thermal), cold (self-seal).
Question to ask: Heat laminator, cold laminator, or self-seal sheets?

Used as: filter, shown on the card. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Titles say "thermal laminating pouches" or "self-seal" / "self-adhesive" / "cold".
Answer mapping: heat laminator to hot; cold laminator or self-seal sheets to cold.

### Label-maker tape or roll system

The cartridge or roll family a label-maker supply fits, such as Brother TZe, DYMO D1, DYMO LetraTag, DYMO Rhino IND, Epson LK, or a phone label maker's own rolls (Niimbot, Phomemo). Cartridges and rolls are proprietary: a DYMO cartridge will not fit a Brother P-touch, and phone label makers sell refills named for each model, so the buyer must match the series named for their machine. Within a series, laminated plastic tapes resist water, fading and chemicals while paper tapes suit dry indoor use only. [17] [6] [25] [28] [29]

Values: Brother TZe, DYMO D1, DYMO LetraTag, DYMO Rhino IND, Epson LK, Niimbot, Phomemo, other.
Question to ask: Which label maker is it for?

Used as: filter. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Series or model in the title ("TZe-231", "D1 45013", "LetraTag", "for D30/D35"); compatible tapes say "compatible with".

### Direct thermal or thermal transfer

Whether a thermal label darkens by itself under the print head (direct thermal) or is printed with ink melted from a ribbon (thermal transfer), on a roll printer or a label maker. Direct thermal needs no ribbon and is the norm for shipping labels, but the face stays heat-sensitive: heat, sunlight and rubbing darken or fade it, typically within a year, though top-coated and long-life stocks exist. Thermal transfer needs a ribbon and a printer that takes one, and is the usual pick for outdoor, freezer and chemical-exposed labels. Label makers vary: some print inkless on direct thermal rolls. [1] [3] [4] [5] [6] [25] [28] [29]

Values: direct thermal, thermal transfer.
Question to ask: Does your printer use a ribbon?

Used as: filter, shown on the card. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Title or bullets say "direct thermal"; thermal transfer stock usually says so and lists ribbon compatibility.
Answer mapping: no ribbon means direct thermal; a ribbon allows either, since some thermal transfer printers also print direct thermal. For label makers, infer from tape_system: D1 cartridges are thermal transfer, inkless phone-maker rolls such as Niimbot D11 and Phomemo D30 are direct thermal. Confirm from the brand page.

### UV-resistant laminating film

Whether a laminating pouch or film is made to block ultraviolet light, for items displayed in sunlight or outdoors. Standard laminating film yellows in sunlight whatever its thickness, and inks under it fade, so signs and documents kept in the sun or outdoors need UV-resistant film. A thicker pouch adds stiffness, not sun resistance, though one guide still advises thicker pouches outdoors against moisture and dirt. [10] [12] [15]

Question to ask: Will it hang in sunlight or outdoors?

Used as: filter. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Titles or bullets say "UV", "UV-protective" or "UV-resistant"; MyBinding lists UV-protective pouches as a specialty type.
True only on an explicit UV claim; no claim means standard film.

### Label or pouch size

The label's dimensions and count per sheet or roll, or the pouch size, such as a shipping-label size or a letter-size pouch. Size has to match the job and the machine: shipping software prints to a fixed label size, and a pouch must be a little larger than the document so it seals on all four edges. [11] [18]

Question to ask: How big is the label, or the document to laminate?

Used as: filter. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Title and sizing.label_size_raw; Avery pages list size and count per sheet.

### Sheet template

The layout code a sheet follows (for example Avery 5160: 30 labels of 1 x 2-5/8 in per sheet), which Avery's free templates and design software use to line up the print. The code carries the label size, count per sheet and layout, so it lines up a print from a template and doubles as the size filter for sheets. It does not fix the printer: Avery sells the 5160 layout for laser and the same layout as 8160 for inkjet. [18] [19]


Used as: filter, shown on the card. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Avery pages list "Template 5160" and "30 per Sheet" in the spec strip.
Parse the code from the title; when only a size is given, record size and count per sheet in sizing.label_size_raw.

### Tape width

The width of a label-maker tape in millimetres, which must not exceed what the machine accepts. A machine prints only up to its maximum width, so a wider tape in the right series still will not fit. Narrow tapes suit file tabs and cables; wider tapes suit signs and asset tags. [17]


Used as: filter, shown on the card. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: In the title as mm and inches ("12mm (0.47 in)"); also in sizing.tape_width_raw.

### Face material

What the printable top layer is made of: paper, or a plastic film such as polypropylene (BOPP), polyester or vinyl. Paper is the cheap choice for dry, low-contact use. Films resist moisture, oil and handling, and vinyl is the most durable outdoors in Avery's guide. Zebra gives polyester a longer outdoor rating than polypropylene and rates it for high heat, so the film name matters for anything left in the sun. [21] [2] [22]

Values: paper, polypropylene (BOPP), polyester, vinyl, other film.

Used as: filter, shown on the card. Data: needs research, backfill cost medium. Look for it as: Avery spec strip ("Paper Label Material"); titles say "vinyl", "polyester", "BOPP" or "film".
Paper versus film is often in the title, but the film name (BOPP, polyester, vinyl) is usually a brand-page fact, so backfill the film name for the top-selling film labels first.
Chart: Paper, film, vinyl durability ladder.

### BPA-free thermal coating

Whether a direct thermal label's coating is free of bisphenol A (BPA), a hormone-disrupting chemical used as a colour developer. BPA in thermal paper transfers to skin on handling, and the EU restricts it in thermal paper for that reason; the rule names paper, so it does not reach synthetic direct thermal labels. Its common substitute, BPS, may act similarly, so "phenol-free" says more than "BPA-free". It matters most for people handling many labels a day. [27] [7]

Values: phenol-free, BPA-free (may contain BPS), not stated.

Used as: shown on the card. Data: needs research, backfill cost high. Look for it as: Occasionally a bullet ("BPA free", "phenol free"); otherwise only on brand safety data sheets.
Backfill the top-selling thermal rolls only; record not stated rather than guessing.

## Numbers worth computing

| Metric | Formula | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Cost per label (currency per label) | `price / (labels per sheet x sheets), or price / labels per roll` | Pack counts vary even for one layout (Avery's 5160 and 8160 pages show the same 30-up sheet in different pack counts), so price per pack hides the real cost. [18] [19] |
| Cost per metre of tape (currency per m) | `price / tape length in metres` | Label-maker cartridges differ in length as well as price, and the tape, not the machine, is the running cost. Length comes from the listing; no facet holds it. [6] |
| Total film added (mil) | `2 x pouch_thickness_mil (when the stated figure is per side)` | Laminator ratings are quoted per side, like the pouch box ("Max Thickness: 125 Mic / 5 Mil"), so check the per-side figure against the rating. The total is what the pouch adds to the document, which matters for binder bulk. [10] [15] |

## What you give up

- Direct thermal prints with nothing but heat, which suits shipping labels, but the face stays heat-sensitive and fades or darkens with sun, heat and rubbing. Anything meant to last more than about a year needs thermal transfer and a ribbon. [1] [5] [6] Board branch: "See more labels that last".
- Thicker pouches make rigid, card-like results, but entry-level laminators take only 3 to 5 mil and thick pouches add bulk in binders. [10] [15] Board branch: "See more pouches your laminator can take".
- Removable glue lets a label come off without residue, but it bonds more strongly the longer it stays on, so it is not a guarantee after months. [20] Board branch: "See more permanent labels".
- Cold film and self-seal sheets protect thermal paper and inkjet prints that heat would ruin, but hot lamination gives a clearer finish. [13] [12] Board branch: "See more no-heat pouches".
- The 550's chip reader tells the software which roll is loaded and how many labels remain, but it also locks out many rolls without a genuine DYMO chip. [8] [25] [24]

## How to draw it

**Paper, film, vinyl durability ladder** (scale, shows Face material, Rated environment). One ordered ladder from paper (dry, low-contact) through film to vinyl (outdoor, heavy-duty) lets a buyer see how far up the ladder their use pushes them, and what they pay to climb. Used today by Avery's durable label guide compares paper, film and vinyl in exactly this order.. [21]

**Pouch thickness scale** (scale, shows Pouch thickness). 3, 5, 7 and 10 mil on one axis with microns beneath and the feel (flexible, semi-rigid, stiff, card) written above, plus a line at the entry-level laminator limit. It shows in one glance which packs a given laminator can use. Used today by Laminating guides publish this as a thickness table; drawing it as a scale is our proposal.. [10] [15]

## Words you will meet

- **Direct thermal**. Label stock that turns dark where a hot print head touches it, so it needs no ink or ribbon.
- **Thermal transfer**. Printing in which a hot print head melts ink from a ribbon onto the label.
- **Ribbon**. A roll of thin film coated with ink, used only by thermal transfer printers.
- **Template code**. A number such as 5160 that names a sheet's label size and layout so software can line up the print.
- **Phone label maker**. A small label maker you design on with a phone app, which often prints without ink on heat-sensitive sticker rolls.
- **Liner**. The peel-off backing paper the labels sit on before use.
- **Face material**. The top layer of a label that takes the print, either paper or plastic film.
- **BOPP**. Biaxially oriented polypropylene, a stretched plastic film used for durable, oil- and water-resistant labels.
- **Repositionable**. Glue that lets a label be lifted and stuck down again a few times.
- **Waterproof versus water-resistant**. Waterproof labels survive soaking and ice; water-resistant labels survive only splashes, condensation and light refrigeration.
- **TZe**. Brother's cartridge series for P-touch label makers.
- **D1**. DYMO's cartridge series for LabelManager label makers.
- **Mil**. One thousandth of an inch, about 25.4 microns, the US unit for pouch thickness.
- **Micron**. One thousandth of a millimetre, the metric unit for pouch thickness.
- **Cold lamination**. Sealing a document in film with pressure-sensitive glue instead of heat, in a cold laminator or with self-seal sheets.
- **Carrier**. A folded card sleeve some laminators need around the pouch to keep melted glue off the rollers.
- **BPA**. Bisphenol A, a chemical some thermal papers use to develop colour, which can pass to skin.
- **UV-resistant film**. Laminating film made to block the ultraviolet light that yellows standard film and fades ink.

## Where we made a call

- Format decides most of the catalog: every family runs only through its own machine. (confidence high). Ours, built from Avery (printer-specific coatings), the tape guide (proprietary cartridges), Zebra (thermal stock) and the laminating guides. [21] [17] [1] [9]
- Direct thermal labels suit shipping and receipts; anything that must stay readable beyond about a year needs thermal transfer. (confidence high). Zebra, Avery, Lowry and ABR agree on short-term use; ABR draws the line at a year and Wikipedia's typical fade period falls within it. Zebra says readability varies with conditions, and top-coated and long-life direct thermal stocks are sold. [1] [2] [3] [4] [5] [6] [29]
- Never put thermal paper or direct thermal labels through a hot laminator; it blackens them. Use cold film or self-seal sheets. (confidence high). Thermal coatings turn black when heated (Wikipedia); MyBinding lists thermal receipts among items heat discolours; a hobbyist warns heat lamination turns receipts black. [7] [13] [12] [23]
- Pouch thickness on the box is usually per side, but not always, so compare against the laminator's rating with care. (confidence medium). Sources disagree. MyBinding and Office Tools Guide say per side, total about double. A 2013 retailer post says most makers state the total (10 mil means 5 per side). We side with the newer, more specific guides. [10] [15] [16]
- A DYMO LabelWriter 550 or 5XL owner needs genuine RFID rolls; many third-party rolls are locked out. (confidence high). Wikipedia, a repair service and an Australian DYMO reseller all describe the RFID check; the repair service says it locks out many, not all, third-party rolls. [8] [24] [25]
- Labels that may touch food in the US should use adhesive meeting 21 CFR 175.105; ask for it rather than assume. (confidence medium). The regulation lets packaging adhesives contact dry food within good manufacturing practice, and fatty or wet food only in trace amounts or behind a barrier. How often consumer listings state compliance was not checked. [26]
- For thermal labels handled all day, phenol-free coating is the safer claim than BPA-free. (confidence medium). The EU restricts BPA in thermal paper over skin-transfer risk to cashiers and unborn children, and its own recital warns BPS, the likely substitute, may act similarly. Wikipedia confirms BPS is now used in thermal coatings. [27] [7]
- Removable adhesive is not reliably removable after long contact. (confidence medium). One brand source (Avery) says removable labels bond more strongly the longer they stay on. Plausible but not independently confirmed. [20]

## References

1. [Zebra, What is the difference between direct thermal and thermal transfer printing?](https://www.zebra.com/us/en/resource-library/faq/difference-between-direct-thermal-and-thermal-transfer-printing.html) (spec sheet). Supports: Direct thermal media blackens under the print head and suits short shelf-life uses like shipping labels.; Heat, sunlight and abrasion darken direct thermal labels; thermal transfer resists heat and moisture.; Direct thermal readability varies with conditions; stock is often top coated against UV and abrasion..
2. [Zebra, What are thermal labels?](https://www.zebra.com/us/en/resource-library/faq/what-are-thermal-labels.html) (spec sheet). Supports: Thermal facestocks are paper or synthetic; synthetics last longer and resist the environment.; Polyester rated for higher heat and longer outdoor exposure than polypropylene.; Short readability needs with no chemical exposure suit direct thermal paper..
3. [Avery help, Direct thermal vs thermal transfer labels](https://www.avery.com/help/article/direct-thermal-vs-thermal-transfer-labels) (spec sheet). Supports: Direct thermal labels are for short-term uses; thermal transfer for long-term, outdoor and freezer labels..
4. [Lowry Solutions, Thermal transfer vs direct thermal label printing](https://lowrysolutions.com/blog/thermal-transfer-vs-direct-thermal-label-printing/) (primer). Supports: Direct thermal not for labels that must last years or face heat, light, chemicals.; Labelling colder than direct thermal's application range needs thermal transfer and a specialty adhesive..
5. [AB&R, Direct thermal vs thermal transfer: do you need long-lasting labels?](https://abr.com/2023/11/20/do-you-need-long-lasting-labels-understanding-the-advantages-of-thermal-transfer-printing/) (primer). Supports: Any label used for more than a year should be printed thermal transfer..
6. [Wikipedia, Label printer](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Label_printer) (primer). Supports: Direct thermal labels typically fade within a year; heat, sunlight and chemical vapours shorten that.; Label makers print on special tapes, often thermal, that are usually expensive.; Some thermal transfer printers can also print direct thermal..
7. [Wikipedia, Thermal paper](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thermal_paper) (primer). Supports: Thermal coatings turn black when heated.; Some thermal papers use BPA, which transfers to skin; BPS is used as a substitute..
8. [Wikipedia, Dymo Corporation](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dymo_Corporation) (primer). Supports: LabelWriter 550 and 5XL read RFID tags in genuine rolls and block third-party rolls..
9. [Wikipedia, Lamination](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lamination) (primer). Supports: Pouches carry heat-activated film; common thicknesses 3, 5, 7 and 10 mil (76 to 254 microns).; Many pouch laminators need a carrier to keep glue off the rollers.; Gives a wider pouch range for home and office machines together..
10. [MyBinding, How to choose the right laminating pouch thickness](https://www.mybinding.com/a/knowledge-base/laminating/are-there-different-thicknesses-available-for-laminating-pouches) (primer). Supports: Mil is per side; finished thickness about double.; 3 mil flexible, 5 mil semi-rigid, 10 mil card-like.; Most entry-level laminators are rated for 3 to 5 mil only.; Standard film yellows in sunlight regardless of thickness; UV-resistant film is needed..
11. [MyBinding, What should I know about laminating pouches?](https://www.mybinding.com/a/knowledge-base/laminating/what-should-i-know-about-laminating-pouches) (primer). Supports: A pouch must be larger than the document so all four edges seal..
12. [MyBinding, Why should I choose a cold laminator?](https://www.mybinding.com/a/knowledge-base/laminating/why-should-i-choose-a-cold-laminator) (primer). Supports: Thermal paper and dye-based inkjet prints cannot safely pass through a hot laminator.; Cold laminating film cannot be used in a hot laminator.; Cold laminators are machines, electric or hand-crank; UV-resistant film suits outdoor use..
13. [MyBinding, How do I choose between a hot or cold laminator?](https://www.mybinding.com/a/knowledge-base/general-laminating/how-i-choose-between-a-hot-or-cold-laminator) (primer). Supports: Thermal receipts and some inkjet prints warp or discolour under heat.; Hot lamination gives a clearer finish than cold..
14. [MyBinding, How do I laminate with self-seal laminating sheets?](https://www.mybinding.com/a/knowledge-base/laminating/how-do-i-laminate-something-with-selfseal-laminating-sheets) (primer). Supports: Self-seal sheets laminate with no machine or heat..
15. [Office Tools Guide, Laminator thickness microns explained](https://officetoolsguide.com/laminator-thickness-microns-explained/) (primer). Supports: Micron figure is per sheet; total is double.; Most home laminators take 80 to 125 microns at most.; Laminator ratings are quoted per side, such as 125 microns or 5 mil maximum.; Advises thicker pouches for outdoor, kitchen or workshop use..
16. [Your Office Stop, What does mil weight mean for laminating pouches? (2013)](http://blog.yourofficestop.com/2013/08/what-does-mil-weight-mean-for.html) (other). Supports: Claims most makers state total thickness: 10 mil means 5 mil per side..
17. [Office Tools Guide, Label maker tape types explained](https://officetoolsguide.com/label-maker-tape-types-explained/) (primer). Supports: Tape cartridges are proprietary per brand: TZe for P-touch, D1 for LabelManager, LK for Epson.; Laminated tapes resist water and fading; paper tapes are for dry indoor use..
18. [Avery 5160 Easy Peel address labels, product page](https://www.avery.com/products/labels/5160) (spec sheet). Supports: 5160 is 1 x 2-5/8 in, 30 per sheet, paper, permanent adhesive, laser..
19. [Avery 8160 address labels, product page](https://www.avery.com/products/labels/8160) (spec sheet). Supports: 8160 has the same 1 x 2-5/8 in, 30-per-sheet layout, for inkjet..
20. [Avery blog, Label adhesive types: permanent vs removable](https://www.avery.com/blog/label-adhesives-permanent-vs-removable-labels/) (spec sheet). Supports: Permanent labels usually need soaking or scraping to remove.; Removable labels bond more strongly the longer they stay on..
21. [Avery blog, Durable label materials guide](https://www.avery.com/blog/durable-label-materials-guide/) (spec sheet). Supports: Paper, film, vinyl ordered by durability; vinyl most durable outdoors.; Waterproof survives soaking; water-resistant only splashes.; Labels are made for inkjet or laser; mismatches smear or damage labels..
22. [Avery blog, Film, paper or vinyl labels](https://www.avery.com/blog/should-you-use-film-or-paper-labels/) (spec sheet). Supports: Film labels hold up better than paper against moisture, oils, refrigeration and handling..
23. [Chris Knight, Preserving thermal receipts](https://www.ghostwheel.com/2019/08/02/preserving-thermal-receipts/) (other). Supports: A heat laminating machine turns a thermal receipt black..
24. [Whizz Tech, DYMO 550 'Genuine labels required' lockout](https://whizz-tech.com/support/dymo-550-genuine-labels-required-lockout/) (other). Supports: 550 and 5XL work only with authentic RFID rolls and lock out many third-party rolls..
25. [DymoOnline, Genuine vs generic DYMO labels](https://dymoonline.com.au/blogs/news/the-truth-about-dymo-labels-myth-busting-genuine-vs-generic) (other). Supports: 550 and 5XL use NFC to read the roll's chip; generic rolls are incompatible.; D1 standard tapes fit most Rhino industrial machines.; D1 standard tapes print by thermal transfer through a ribbon..
26. [21 CFR 175.105, Adhesives (Cornell LII)](https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/21/175.105) (regulator). Supports: Packaging adhesives must be listed substances, separated from food or limited to GMP or trace contact..
27. [Commission Regulation (EU) 2016/2235, BPA in thermal paper (read via Internet Archive)](https://eur-lex.europa.eu/eli/reg/2016/2235/oj) (regulator). Supports: EU restricts BPA in thermal paper over risk to cashiers and consumers.; Recital notes BPS may have a similar toxicological profile.; The restriction applies to thermal paper..
28. [Niimbot, D11-H label maker product page](https://www.niimbotlabel.com/products/niimbot-d11-label-maker) (spec sheet). Supports: Prints thermal on thermal laminated labels with no ink, carbon band or cartridge.; Sells refills named for each label-maker model..
29. [Phomemo, D30 label maker product page](https://phomemo.com/products/d30-label-maker) (spec sheet). Supports: D30 prints inkless thermal on label rolls sold for named models.; Sells ribbon tapes for other models and long-life thermal paper..
30. [Betckey, Shipping labels collection](https://betckey.com/collections/shipping-labels) (retail listing). Supports: Sells the same shipping size separately as DYMO-compatible and Brother DK-compatible rolls.; Lists rolls by DYMO, Brother QL and Zebra printer model..
31. [MyBinding, search results for sticky back laminating pouches](https://www.mybinding.com/search?q=sticky+back+laminating+pouches) (retail listing). Supports: Sells 3 and 5 mil sticky-back laminating pouches..
32. [Avery blog, How heat and humidity affect labels](https://www.avery.com/blog/heat-humidity-label-storage/) (spec sheet). Supports: Most labels are best stored and applied within a moderate room-temperature range..
