# Frying, sauté and specialty pans

Choose a pan by its cooking surface first. A nonstick coating releases eggs with little oil but wears out in a few years and wants gentle heat; PTFE deteriorates above about 260°C. Stainless, seasoned cast iron and carbon steel take high heat for decades. Then check that heat-spreading metal runs up the sides, and ignore the ply count.

## How it works

A pan has two jobs: spread a burner's uneven heat across its floor and sides, and stop food sticking. Spreading depends on the metal and its thickness. Aluminium conducts heat 10 to 16 times better than stainless steel and copper better still, so good stainless pans hide an aluminium or copper layer, called cladding, while cast iron makes up for slow conduction with thickness and weight. Release depends on the surface. PTFE (the Teflon-type plastic) and sol-gel ceramic coatings release food with little oil but wear away and want low to medium heat; PTFE itself deteriorates above about 260°C. Seasoning, oil baked into a hard polymer on bare iron or carbon steel, builds release with use. Bare stainless sticks until the food has browned. Induction cooktops heat only magnetic metal, so the base must be iron or a magnetic grade of stainless. [18] [12] [11] [19] [23] [21] [9]

| Family | What it is | Suits |
|---|---|---|
| PTFE nonstick | Aluminium body under a PTFE coating; best release, lowest heat ceiling, replaced every few years. | Eggs, fish and pancakes at low to medium heat. |
| Ceramic nonstick | Aluminium body under a sol-gel silica coating made without PTFE; releases as well when new but tends to lose it sooner. | Buyers who want nonstick without PFAS. |
| Clad stainless | Stainless inside and out with aluminium or copper bonded between, ideally up to the rim; sticks until food browns, lasts decades. | Searing, browning and pan sauces. |
| Seasoned cast iron | Thick cast iron with a baked-on oil finish; slow to heat, holds heat, heavy. | High-heat searing, oven finishing, cornbread. |
| Seasoned carbon steel | Thinner pressed steel with the same seasoning as cast iron; lighter and quicker to respond. | Restaurant-style searing, woks and crêpes. |
| Enamelled cast iron | Cast iron with a fused glass lining; no seasoning, does not react with acid, still heavy. | Buyers who want iron without seasoning upkeep. |

## How an expert narrows the choice

```mermaid
timeline
  section 1 · Cooking surface
    nonstick coating : ask Nonstick chemistry, Body construction
    stainless steel : ask Body construction, Wall thickness : skip Nonstick chemistry
    seasoned iron or steel : ask Weight, Body construction : skip Nonstick chemistry
    enamelled iron : ask Weight : skip Nonstick chemistry, Body construction
  section 2 · Nonstick chemistry
    PTFE / not stated : ask Oven-safe limit
  section 3 · Pan shape
    frying pan or skillet : ask Body construction, Cooking surface (floor) diameter : skip Wok base
    sauté pan : ask Lid included : skip Wok base
    wok or stir-fry pan : ask Wok base, Body construction
  section 4 · Works on induction
    yes : ask Wall thickness, Wok base
```

1. **Cooking surface.** Nonstick coating, stainless steel, seasoned iron or steel, or enamelled iron?
   The cooking surface decides release, heat ceiling, lifespan, weight and care at once, and nonstick outsells everything else, so this one answer removes most of the catalog.
   If nonstick coating: ask Nonstick chemistry, Body construction.
   If stainless steel: ask Body construction, Wall thickness; skip Nonstick chemistry.
   If seasoned iron or steel: ask Weight, Body construction; skip Nonstick chemistry.
   If enamelled iron: ask Weight; skip Nonstick chemistry, Body construction.
   Skip if already known: query names a material, e.g. cast iron skillet, nonstick pan.

2. **Nonstick chemistry.** PTFE (Teflon-type) coating, or PTFE-free ceramic?
   Within nonstick, this is the one difference buyers ask about: PFAS, the heat ceiling and coating life all follow from it, and PTFE pans cannot be sold in Minnesota, Maine or Colorado.
   If PTFE or not stated: ask Oven-safe limit.
   Skip if already known: surface_family is not nonstick coating, earlier answer: avoids PFAS or Teflon, delivery state is Minnesota, Maine or Colorado.

3. **Pan shape.** Sloped skillet, straight-sided sauté pan, wok, or something specialised?
   The leaf bundles several shapes that are used differently; shape decides whether a lid, a flat wok base or sidewall cladding matters. Most queries name the shape, so skip it then.
   If frying pan or skillet: ask Body construction, Cooking surface (floor) diameter; skip Wok base.
   If sauté pan: ask Lid included; skip Wok base.
   If wok or stir-fry pan: ask Wok base, Body construction.
   Skip if already known: query names a shape, e.g. sauté pan, wok, grill pan, crêpe pan.

4. **Works on induction.** Cooking on an induction cooktop?
   Induction is a hard filter that removes bare aluminium and copper pans and many nonstick ones, and its uneven heating raises the value of a thick base. Anyone can answer it.
   If yes: ask Wall thickness, Wok base.
   Skip if already known: memory: cooktop type.

## What to surface

### Cooking surface

What the food touches: a nonstick coating, bare stainless steel, seasoned cast iron or carbon steel, or enamel. It sets four things at once. Coatings release food with little oil but wear out in a few years and need low to medium heat. Stainless sticks until food browns but takes high heat and lasts decades. Seasoned iron and steel get slicker with use, need drying and oiling, and suffer from long acidic cooking. Enamel needs no seasoning and does not react with acid. [8] [9] [18] [23] [24] [26]

Values: nonstick coating, stainless steel, seasoned iron or steel, enamelled iron, other bare metal.
Question to ask: Nonstick coating, stainless steel, seasoned iron or steel, or enamelled iron?

Used as: top-level split, filter. Data: derived from listing fields, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Parsed from the title and material field (nonstick, ceramic, stainless, tri-ply, cast iron, carbon steel, enameled). A 'ceramic' answer maps to nonstick coating, with coating_chemistry set to ceramic. A 'hybrid' stainless-lattice pan (e.g. HexClad) also maps to nonstick coating, since it carries a nonstick coating under the lattice (HexClad's own FAQ: PTFE-free ceramic). 'Other bare metal' covers tin-lined copper and uncoated anodised aluminium; the question does not offer it, so it is reached only when the buyer names it.
Every brand page read names the material in its title. Where the title says only 'nonstick', classify as nonstick coating and resolve the chemistry separately.

### Pan shape

The pan's form: a frying pan or skillet with low sloped sides, a straight-sided sauté pan, a wok, or a specialised pan. Frying pans have low flared sides and no lid, for frying, searing and browning; sauté pans have upright sides, often a lid, and are designed for gentler cooking. Flared sides shrink the flat floor. A wok needs a flat base to work on induction. Grill, crêpe, paella and omelette pans each do one job. [22] [13]

Values: frying pan or skillet, sauté pan, wok or stir-fry pan, grill pan, crêpe pan or griddle, other specialty (paella, omelette, tamagoyaki).
Question to ask: Sloped skillet, straight-sided sauté pan, wok, or something specialised?

Used as: top-level split, filter. Data: derived from listing fields, backfill cost none. Look for it as: Always in the title (fry pan, skillet, sauté pan, sauteuse, wok, grill pan, crêpe pan). 'Something specialised' maps to grill, crêpe or griddle, and other specialty; ask which. Sauteuse and chef's pan count as sauté pan.

### Works on induction

Whether the base contains enough magnetic metal for an induction cooktop to heat it. Induction heats only magnetic metal, so bare aluminium and copper pans stay cold. Cast iron, carbon steel and enamelled iron always work; clad stainless works when the outer layer is a magnetic (ferritic) grade; aluminium nonstick needs a bonded steel plate. A magnet that sticks firmly to the base is the test. Induction also heats unevenly, which rewards a thick spreading layer. [21] [11] [25] [24] [13]

Question to ask: Cooking on an induction cooktop?

Used as: top-level split, filter. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Usually a bullet or a stovetop icon row on brand pages (All-Clad, Made In). The buyer's yes means require yes; no means stop filtering on it.
Infer yes for cast iron, carbon steel and enamelled iron; infer no for bare aluminium and copper with no steel base; otherwise read the brand page.

### Nonstick chemistry

Whether a nonstick coating is PTFE, a fluorinated plastic, or a sol-gel ceramic made without PTFE. PTFE is FDA-authorised for food contact and releases best for longest, but it is a PFAS, deteriorates from about 260°C, and its fumes can kill pet birds. Ceramic avoids PFAS and releases as well when new, but reviewers find it loses release sooner. 'PFOA-free' says nothing about PTFE, and 'granite', 'stone' or 'diamond' names can sit on either; only a PTFE-free claim marks ceramic. [7] [1] [2] [19] [20] [10] [3] [4] [6] [27] [28] [5]

Values: PTFE, ceramic (PTFE-free), not stated.
Question to ask: PTFE (Teflon-type) coating, or PTFE-free ceramic?

Used as: top-level split, filter, shown on the card. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Look for 'PTFE-free' or 'ceramic' in the title or bullets, or a California AB 1200 line beginning 'This product contains:'. 'PFOA-free' alone is not evidence of either.
Answer 'PTFE' maps to PTFE and to 'not stated' (an unstated nonstick coating is treated as PTFE); answer 'ceramic' maps to ceramic only; 'either' means no filter. Brand pages name the coating (Thermolon, TerraBond). For Minnesota, Maine and Colorado deliveries, drop PTFE.
Chart: PTFE temperature scale.

### Size (rim diameter)

The pan's size as sold, measured across the top rim in inches or centimetres. It sets how much fits without crowding, and crowded food steams instead of browning. Frying pans run 8 to 12 in (20 to 30 cm). The label is the rim, not the flat floor you cook on, and inch sizes are often rounded from metric, so compare floor diameters where the brand gives them. [22] [25]

Range: 8, 10 and 12 in are the common frying-pan sizes (20 to 30 cm).
Question to ask: 8, 10 or 12 inch?

Used as: filter. Data: derived from listing fields, backfill cost low. Look for it as: In the title and the size selector (12 inch, 28 cm). Record the labelled nominal size, not a tape measurement of the actual rim: CenturyLife finds pans labelled 12 in typically measure about 30 cm across the rim, and Made In's 12 in pan measures 31.8 cm.
Chart: Rim and floor rings.

### Wok base

Whether a wok has a flat base or a round one. Induction power falls off quickly with distance from the glass, so a round-bottomed wok, which touches a flat cooktop at one point, barely heats on induction. Flat-bottomed woks work on any cooktop; round ones suit gas burners. A 'no' to the induction question does not tell gas from flat electric, so ask this whenever the shape is wok rather than inferring it from that answer. [21] [13]

Values: flat, round.
Question to ask: Flat-bottomed wok, or round for a gas burner?

Used as: filter. Data: derived from listing fields, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Usually in the title ('flat bottom wok'); otherwise visible in the photo.

### Body construction

How the heat-spreading metal is built in: fully clad up to the rim, a disc bonded under the base, solid cast metal, or a single pressed sheet. A skillet cooks on its sloped sides, so conductive metal should run up them; a disc base leaves thin steel walls that run cooler than the floor on electric and scorch in a ring on gas. Disc pans also warp more at the seam. For nonstick, cast or forged aluminium bodies are thicker than stamped ones and heat more evenly. Visible layers at the rim mean fully clad. [13] [11] [9] [17]

Values: fully clad, disc base, cast (iron or aluminium), forged aluminium, pressed single metal.

Used as: filter, shown on the card. Data: needs research, backfill cost medium. Look for it as: Titles and bullets say 'tri-ply', 'fully clad', 'bonded', 'impact-bonded base', 'encapsulated base', 'die-cast' or 'forged'. Many cheap stainless pans do not say; a disc is often hidden under a polished wrapper.
Brand pages usually state it; where only 'stainless' is given, treat as unknown rather than guess. Backfill the top 200 stainless and nonstick pans.
Chart: Even-heating ranking.

### Weight

How much the empty pan weighs. Weight decides whether you can toss food or pour from the pan one-handed. Lodge's store shipping-weight field puts its 12 in cast-iron skillet at about 3.6 kg and its 12 in carbon steel at about 1.9 kg, figures that may include packaging; a 12 in clad stainless pan is about 1.4 kg from a brand spec table. Within clad stainless, more weight usually means a thicker aluminium core and more even heat. [26] [25] [24] [11] [8]


Used as: shown on the card, sortable. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Brand spec tables (All-Clad 'Weight', Made In 'Weight: 1.36 kg'); retail listings vary and may give shipping weight.
Brand pages and store feeds carry it; Lodge's figures come from its Shopify shipping-weight field and may include packaging, so prefer a spec table where one exists.
Chart: horizontal bar by rim size, coloured by surface family.

### Oven-safe limit

The highest oven temperature the maker says the whole pan, handle and coating included, can take. It matters for searing on the stove and finishing in the oven or under the broiler. Makers rate pans very differently: All-Clad rates its stainless at 600°F including the broiler, Lodge its enamel skillet at 500°F. For PTFE the limit is also a safety line, because the coating itself deteriorates from about 260°C (500°F). [24] [26] [19] [20]


Used as: filter, shown on the card. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: A bullet or care line ('oven safe up to 500°F'). Some pages print two different figures; take the lower.
Brand care pages carry it. Where missing, leave this field null; never show the 260°C PTFE deterioration onset as an oven-safe rating, since it is where the coating starts to break down, not a manufacturer's limit.
Chart: PTFE temperature scale.

### Lid included

Whether the pan comes with a matching lid. Sauté pans usually come with a lid and frying pans usually without one, so a sauté pan sold bare is a hidden extra cost, while a frying pan's missing lid is normal. [22]

Question to ask: Need a lid with it?

Used as: filter, shown on the card. Data: derived from listing fields, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Title ('with lid') or the pieces-included line.

### Cooking surface (floor) diameter

The width of the flat floor inside the pan, where food actually sits. Flared sides take a large share of the rim figure. Made In's 12 in pan has a 24.1 cm (9.5 in) floor and its 8 in pan a 12.7 cm (5 in) floor. Floor area, not rim size, decides how much fits in one layer, and it separates a generous skillet from a steeply flared one. [25] [17]


Used as: shown on the card, sortable. Data: needs research, backfill cost high. Look for it as: Rare. Made In lists 'Cooking Surface Diameter' beside 'Total Diameter'; most brands give only the rim.
Take it from brand dimension tables where stated; otherwise null. Do not estimate from the rim, since flare varies by shape and brand. Expect this field, and the floor_area_cm2 and floor_to_rim_ratio metrics that depend on it, to be null for most rows.
Chart: Rim and floor rings.

### Wall thickness

The total thickness of the pan's wall or base in millimetres, which mostly measures how much heat-spreading metal it has. Within one material, thicker spreads heat more evenly, recovers faster when cold food goes in, and warps less; it also weighs more. Most clad stainless skillets measure under 3 mm in total, and those with thin aluminium heat unevenly on electric and induction. This number, not the ply count, is what compares across brands, but few brands publish it. [14] [12] [25] [11]

Range: Most tri-ply and 5-ply clad skillets are under 3 mm in total; cast iron is much thicker because it conducts poorly.

Used as: shown on the card, sortable. Data: needs research, backfill cost high. Look for it as: Rarely present. Some brands print it as a feature line (Made In: '2.7mm Thick 5-Ply Construction').
Needs a brand spec or an independent measurement (CenturyLife keeps a table). Backfill the top 100 clad and nonstick pans; leave null otherwise and never estimate from ply count.
Chart: horizontal position, grouped by surface family so iron is not compared with aluminium.

## Numbers worth computing

| Metric | Formula | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Frying area (cm²) | `3.1416 * (cooking_surface_diameter / 2)^2` | Area grows with the square of the floor, so a 12 in pan can hold far more than a 10 in. On Made In's figures the 12 in floor is about 1.6 times the 10 in, and the 8 in less than half.  |
| Floor share of the rim | `cooking_surface_diameter / (diameter_in * 2.54)` | Shows how much of the advertised size is usable floor, using the labelled nominal size as 'diameter_in' records it. Made In's 12 in pan is 0.79 and its 8 in 0.63; lower means steeper flare and less room for searing.  |

## What you give up

- A coating lets eggs slide out with little oil, but it is a consumable: most nonstick pans need replacing every few years and must stay at low to medium heat. Bare stainless and iron sear harder and last decades. [8] [9] [19] Board branch: "See more pans that last decades".
- Ceramic avoids PFAS and releases as well as PTFE when new, but in CR's abrasion test fewer ceramic pans scored top marks, and reviewers find it loses release sooner. [7] [9] Board branch: "See more longer-lasting nonstick".
- Cast iron holds heat for a hard sear and oven finishing, but Lodge's shipping-weight figures put its 12 in cast-iron skillet at about twice its carbon steel one, and iron is slow to heat. Carbon steel gives up some heat mass to be liftable. [16] [26] [23] Board branch: "See more lighter seasoned pans".
- More aluminium or copper spreads heat more evenly and resists warping, but adds weight; thick clad and thick cast-aluminium pans are heavier than thin ones of the same size. [12] [11] [17] Board branch: "See more even-heating pans".
- A clad stainless body lasts decades, so putting a nonstick coating on it means the surface wears out long before the pan. Spend on the body for uncoated pans; buy coated pans on a thick cast or forged aluminium body. [9] [12]

## How to draw it

**Even-heating ranking** (bar, shows Body construction, Wall thickness). Ranks pans by the temperature gap between the centre and a 10 cm circle when the centre reaches 350°F, grouped by construction. It shows at a glance that thick aluminium beats thin tri-ply and that disc bases sit apart. Used today by CenturyLife.org thermal-camera tests on electric and induction. [17]

**Heat-spreading ladder** (scale, shows Cooking surface, Body construction). Places copper, aluminium, cast iron, carbon steel and stainless on one conductivity scale, which explains why stainless pans need a hidden core and iron needs thickness. Used today by Conductivity tables in Cooking for Engineers and CenturyLife. [18] [12]

**PTFE temperature scale** (scale, shows Nonstick chemistry, Oven-safe limit). A temperature line marking where PTFE starts to deteriorate (about 260°C), decomposes (above 350°C) and pyrolyses (above 400°C), with the pan's stated oven limit as a marker. Used today by Proposal; thresholds from Wikipedia's PTFE article and the PMC coating study. [19] [20]

**Rim and floor rings** (other, shows Size (rim diameter), Cooking surface (floor) diameter). Two concentric circles drawn to scale, rim outside and flat floor inside, so a buyer sees the usable area and compares sizes by floor rather than label. Used today by Proposal; Made In publishes both diameters. [25]

## Words you will meet

- **PTFE**. Polytetrafluoroethylene, the slippery plastic in Teflon-type nonstick coatings.
- **PFAS**. A large family of fluorinated chemicals that break down very slowly; PTFE belongs to it.
- **PFOA**. One PFAS once used to make PTFE coatings and since phased out of US cookware, so a 'PFOA-free' label says little.
- **Ceramic (sol-gel) coating**. A thin glassy nonstick layer made from silica and sprayed on as a liquid, without PTFE.
- **Polymer fume fever**. Flu-like illness from breathing fumes of overheated PTFE.
- **Seasoning**. Cooking oil baked onto bare iron or steel until it hardens into a slick, rust-resistant film.
- **Carbon steel**. Iron with a little carbon, pressed thin from sheet, seasoned like cast iron but lighter.
- **Enamel**. Glass fused onto metal, here a smooth lining on cast iron that needs no seasoning.
- **Reactive metal**. A metal such as bare aluminium, copper or iron that acidic food can pick up taste from.
- **Clad (fully clad)**. Built from a bonded sandwich of metals, usually stainless outside and aluminium inside, running from the floor up to the rim.
- **Disc base**. A thick plate of aluminium or copper bonded only under the floor of a thin steel pan; also sold as impact-bonded or encapsulated base.
- **Ply**. One layer of metal in a clad pan; brands count layers differently, so 5-ply and 3-ply do not compare.
- **Ferritic stainless**. A magnetic grade of stainless steel used on the outside of clad pans so they work on induction.
- **Sauté pan**. A wide pan with straight, upright sides and usually a lid; a sauteuse is the curved-sided version.

## Where we made a call

- Ply count does not compare across brands; total conductive thickness and whether cladding reaches the rim do. (confidence high). CenturyLife shows Demeyere's 7-ply is 3-ply by All-Clad's counting; the Cookware Critic reaches the same rule. Ours: retire ply count as a field. [15] [11]
- Only a PTFE-free claim tells you a nonstick pan avoids PTFE; 'PFOA-free' does not. (confidence high). CR found PFOA in a PTFE pan sold as PFOA-free and cites an Ecology Center study where PTFE-free labels matched ceramic coatings. California restricts 'free of' claims for listed chemical classes. [7] [6]
- Names like granite, stone, diamond or titanium do not identify the coating chemistry. (confidence medium). Sources disagree. The Cookware Critic finds a Granitestone line is PTFE; a PMC study treats 'granite' pans as ceramic; Rational Kitchen says reinforcements go into both. We treat such pans as PTFE unless they claim PTFE-free. [10] [20] [9]
- An intact PTFE coating is safe in normal cooking if kept below about 260°C; empty preheating on high is the risk. (confidence medium). Sources disagree. FDA calls migration negligible and Wikipedia and a PMC study give 260°C; Rational Kitchen says fumes start near 400°F. We use 260°C as the line and warn against empty preheating, as CR does. [1] [2] [19] [20] [9] [7]
- PTFE-coated pans cannot be sold in Minnesota from 2025, Maine from 2026, or Colorado from 2026. (confidence high). All three ban cookware with intentionally added PFAS, and PTFE qualifies under Minnesota's and Colorado's broad PFAS definitions. Maine exempts a retailer until it is notified (§1614(5)(G)). Other states not checked. [3] [4] [5]
- Ceramic nonstick releases as well as PTFE when new but tends to lose release sooner. (confidence medium). CR found the two neck and neck on release and evenness, with fewer ceramic pans top-rated for abrasion; Rational Kitchen expects ceramic replacement every one to three years. [7] [9]
- Skillets and woks need conductive sidewalls; sauté pans need them less. (confidence medium). Sources disagree. Demeyere's design view is that straight-sided pans can use a disc base; CenturyLife agrees for liquids but finds disc sauté pans cool at the edges. We keep construction relevant for sauté pans. [13]
- Thick aluminium nonstick pans heat more evenly than typical tri-ply stainless. (confidence medium). CenturyLife's thermal-camera ranking shows it, and the conductivity tables explain it. One tester, so a finding rather than a rule. [17] [18]

## References

1. [FDA, Authorized Uses of PFAS in Food Contact Applications (Internet Archive snapshot, 2026-10-06)](https://www.fda.gov/food/process-contaminants-food/authorized-uses-pfas-food-contact-applications) (regulator). Supports: Nonstick coatings are an authorised PFAS food-contact use; Negligible PFAS migrates to food from cookware coatings.
2. [21 CFR 177.1550 Perfluorocarbon resins](https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-21/chapter-I/subchapter-B/part-177/subpart-B/section-177.1550) (regulator). Supports: US rule allowing tetrafluoroethylene polymers in articles that contact food.
3. [Minnesota Statutes 116.943 (Amara's Law)](https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/116.943) (regulator). Supports: Sale of cookware with intentionally added PFAS banned from 1 January 2025; PFAS defined as any chemical with a fully fluorinated carbon.
4. [Maine Revised Statutes Title 38 §1614](https://legislature.maine.gov/statutes/38/title38sec1614.html) (regulator). Supports: Sale of cookware with intentionally added PFAS banned from 1 January 2026; A retailer is exempt from the ban until notified under §1614(5)(G).
5. [Colorado SB24-081, Perfluoroalkyl and Polyfluoroalkyl Chemicals](https://leg.colorado.gov/bills/sb24-081) (regulator). Supports: Sale of cookware with intentionally added PFAS banned from 1 January 2026; Signed by the governor 1 May 2024.
6. [California Attorney General, AB 1200 enforcement advisory (2023)](https://oag.ca.gov/system/files/attachments/press-docs/AB1200%20Enforcement%20Advisory%20(1).pdf) (regulator). Supports: Cookware chemical disclosure on websites from 2023 and on labels and online listings from 2024; Restricts 'free of' claims for listed chemical classes.
7. [Consumer Reports, You Can't Always Trust Claims on 'Non-Toxic' Cookware](https://www.consumerreports.org/toxic-chemicals-substances/you-cant-always-trust-claims-on-non-toxic-cookware-a4849321487/) (specialist review). Supports: A PTFE pan sold as PFOA-free contained PFOA; PTFE-free labels matched ceramic coatings; Ceramic equals PTFE on release; fewer ceramic pans top-rated for abrasion; Overheated PTFE fumes can kill small birds.
8. [Consumer Reports, 5 Best Frying Pans If You Want to Avoid PFAS Chemicals](https://www.consumerreports.org/home-garden/cookware/best-frying-pans-if-you-want-to-avoid-pfas-chemicals-a1006253549/) (specialist review). Supports: Nonstick outsells all other pan types; Most nonstick pans need replacing every few years; Cast iron is heavy.
9. [The Rational Kitchen, Ceramic Frying Pans: Are They Better than Teflon (PTFE)?](https://therationalkitchen.com/ceramic-frying-pans-better-than-teflon/) (specialist review). Supports: Ceramic loses release faster than PTFE; replace every one to three years; Cast or forged aluminium bodies beat stamped for nonstick; Do not buy nonstick on a clad stainless body; Reinforcement names go into both PTFE and ceramic.
10. [The Cookware Critic, Are Granite Stone Pans Worth It?](https://www.thecookwarecritic.com/reviews/are-granite-stone-pans-worth-it/) (specialist review). Supports: A 'granite stone' line is pressed aluminium under three layers of PTFE.
11. [The Cookware Critic, 3-Ply vs 5-Ply Cookware](https://www.thecookwarecritic.com/reviews/3-ply-vs-5-ply-cookware/) (specialist review). Supports: Total aluminium thickness and full cladding matter, not ply count; Aluminium conducts about 16 times better than stainless; Ferritic 430 exterior makes clad pans work on induction.
12. [CenturyLife.org, Thermal properties of metals](https://www.centurylife.org/thermal-properties-of-metals/) (specialist review). Supports: Conductivity: copper 388 to 394, aluminium alloy 160, iron and carbon steel 50 to 55, stainless 16 W/m·K; Thin aluminium cores heat unevenly and warp more.
13. [CenturyLife.org, Cladded sidewalls vs. disc-bottomed cookware](https://www.centurylife.org/cladded-sidewalls-vs-disc-bottomed-cookware-which-is-better/) (specialist review). Supports: Skillets and woks should have conductive sidewalls; sauté pans less so; Induction heats unevenly, rewarding a thick base.
14. [CenturyLife.org, Cookware Thickness Database](https://www.centurylife.org/how-thick-is-insert-brand-cookware-how-thick-is-the-base-how-thick-is-the-clad-layer-where-was-it-made-is-it-induction-compatible-and-how-long-is-the-warranty/) (specialist review). Supports: Measured tri-ply clad skillets at about 2.1 to 2.6 mm total.
15. [CenturyLife.org, What is the difference between tri-ply, 5-ply and 7-ply?](https://www.centurylife.org/what-is-the-difference-between-tri-ply-and-5-ply-and-7-ply-how-many-plies-do-i-need/) (specialist review). Supports: Demeyere 7-ply is 3-ply by All-Clad counting; ply number does not matter.
16. [CenturyLife.org, Heat retention myths and facts](https://www.centurylife.org/heat-retention-myths-and-facts-does-cast-iron-hold-heat-better-than-clad-is-clad-better-than-disc-base-at-retaining-heat-longer/) (specialist review). Supports: Cast iron is made thick because it conducts poorly; 1 mm of steel or iron holds as much heat as 1.5 mm of aluminium.
17. [CenturyLife.org, Cookware even heating rankings: induction and electric](https://www.centurylife.org/cookware-even-heating-rankings-induction-and-electric/) (specialist review). Supports: Thick aluminium nonstick heated more evenly than tri-ply clad; Pan sizes are tested by interior diameter, and inch labels round metric sizes.
18. [Cooking for Engineers, Common Materials of Cookware](https://www.cookingforengineers.com/article/120/Common-Materials-of-Cookware) (primer). Supports: Conductivity: copper 401, aluminium 237, cast iron 80, carbon steel 51, stainless 16 W/m·K; Aluminium must be 1.5 times as thick to match steel's heat capacity; Carbon steel is pressed from sheet; copper and aluminium react with food.
19. [Wikipedia, Polytetrafluoroethylene](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Polytetrafluoroethylene) (primer). Supports: PTFE deteriorates from about 260°C, decomposes above 350°C, pyrolyses above 400°C.
20. [Teflon/granite coated aluminium alloys for non-stick cookware (PMC11324993)](https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC11324993/) (academic). Supports: PTFE is inert below 260°C and releases fumes above it; Treats 'granite' pans as ceramic, unlike the Cookware Critic.
21. [Wikipedia, Induction cooking](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Induction_cooking) (primer). Supports: Induction needs ferromagnetic metal; a magnet that sticks is the test; Cookware should have a flat bottom on induction.
22. [Wikipedia, Frying pan](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Frying_pan) (primer). Supports: Frying pans are 20 to 30 cm with flared sides and no lid; Sauté pans have vertical sides and often a lid.
23. [Wikipedia, Seasoning (cookware)](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Seasoning_(cookware)) (primer). Supports: Seasoning is fat baked into a polymer layer; Long acidic cooking affects seasoned pans; short cooking does not.
24. [All-Clad D3 Stainless 12 in fry pan](https://www.all-clad.com/d3-stainless-3-ply-bonded-cookware-fry-pan-12-inch.html) (spec sheet). Supports: Oven and broiler safe to 600°F, induction compatible; 12 in pan weighs 3 lb.
25. [Made In Stainless Clad frying pan (8, 10, 12 in)](https://madeincookware.com/products/stainless-steel-frying-pan/12-inch) (spec sheet). Supports: Lists total and cooking-surface diameters: 12 in is 31.8 and 24.1 cm; 2.7 mm 5-ply with ferritic exterior for induction; 12 in pan weighs 1.36 kg.
26. [Lodge Cast Iron product feed (lodgecastiron.com)](https://www.lodgecastiron.com/products.json) (spec sheet). Supports: 12 in cast iron about 3.6 kg; 12 in carbon steel about 1.9 kg; Enamel skillet oven safe to 500°F.
27. [GreenPan product feed (greenpan.us)](https://www.greenpan.us/products.json) (spec sheet). Supports: Brands name the ceramic coating (Thermolon) and claim no intentionally added PFAS.
28. [HexClad FAQ](https://hexclad.com/pages/faq) (spec sheet). Supports: A 'hybrid' stainless-lattice pan now uses a PTFE-free ceramic coating.
