# Cookware Sets

Pick the surface first: nonstick releases food but wears out in a few years, stainless lasts decades, bare iron needs seasoning. Then count pots and pans, not pieces, because makers count lids and gadgets. For nonstick, choose PTFE or PFAS-free ceramic; PTFE cookware can no longer be sold in Minnesota, Maine or Colorado. Check induction and skillet size.

## How it works

A cookware set is several pots and pans in one box that share one construction. Two layers decide how each piece cooks. The body spreads heat: aluminium and copper conduct it far better than stainless steel (copper about 25 times better), so good stainless pans bond an aluminium or copper core between steel layers, either right up the walls (fully clad) or only as a disc under the base. The surface decides sticking and care: bare stainless sears but sticks, a PTFE or ceramic nonstick coating releases food but wears away and dislikes high heat, and cast iron or carbon steel builds a seasoning of baked-on oil. Induction cooktops heat only magnetic metal, so the base must contain steel or iron. Finally, makers count every lid and accessory as a piece, so the number and size of the actual pots and pans matter more than the headline count. [17] [18] [1] [20] [3]

| Family | What it is | Suits |
|---|---|---|
| Clad stainless | Stainless steel inside and out with an aluminium or copper core, 3 or 5 layers, no coating. | Searing, pan sauces, oven finishing; buyers who want one set for decades. |
| PTFE nonstick | An aluminium or hard-anodized aluminium body with a PTFE (Teflon-type) coating. | Eggs, fish and easy cleanup at low to medium heat; replaced every few years. |
| Ceramic nonstick | A silica-based coating made without PFAS over an aluminium or stainless body. | Buyers who want release without PFAS, or who live where PTFE cookware is barred. |
| Hybrid | A raised stainless steel pattern over a nonstick coating on a clad body, sold as tolerant of metal tools. | Cooks who want some release and some searing from one pan. |
| Cast iron and carbon steel | Bare iron or steel that is seasoned with oil, or cast iron sealed with enamel. | High-heat searing and long braises; heavy, and bare iron needs drying and oiling. |

## How an expert narrows the choice

```mermaid
timeline
  section 1 · Cooking surface
    nonstick coating : ask Nonstick chemistry, Lid oven limit
    stainless steel : ask Heat core, Layers, Largest skillet : skip Nonstick chemistry
    cast iron or carbon steel : skip Nonstick chemistry, Works on induction
  section 2 · Nonstick chemistry
    Teflon-type coating okay, or PFAS-free only?
  section 3 · Works on induction
    Need it to work on an induction cooktop?
  section 4 · Pots and pans
    How many pots and pans, not counting lids?
```

1. **Cooking surface.** Nonstick, stainless steel, or cast iron?
   The surface sets lifespan, heat limit and care, and reviewers rank sets within one surface at a time. It removes most of the catalog in one answer and decides which later questions apply.
   If nonstick coating: ask Nonstick chemistry, Lid oven limit.
   If stainless steel: ask Heat core, Layers, Largest skillet; skip Nonstick chemistry.
   If cast iron or carbon steel: skip Nonstick chemistry, Works on induction.
   Skip if already known: a query naming the material, such as 'stainless set' or 'ceramic set', an earlier answer saying the buyer wants to avoid coatings.

2. **Nonstick chemistry.** Teflon-type coating okay, or PFAS-free only?
   Only for coated sets. 'PFAS-free only' keeps ceramic sets and drops PTFE and unstated coatings; 'okay' keeps all three. Where the buyer lives in Minnesota, Maine, Colorado or (with notice) Connecticut, PTFE is restricted or barred.
   Skip if already known: a shipping address in Minnesota, Maine or Colorado: assume 'PFAS-free only' (PTFE cookware cannot be sold there), a shipping address in Connecticut: PTFE sale needs written notice to DEEP, so ask rather than assume, an earlier answer about PFAS, Teflon or 'non-toxic' cookware.

3. **Works on induction.** Need it to work on an induction cooktop?
   A yes removes plain and hard-anodized aluminium sets, mostly nonstick, that lack a bonded steel base. A no also changes which construction matters: disc-base stainless scorches on gas and electric.
   Skip if already known: a cooktop type already in memory, a query that says induction.

4. **Pots and pans.** How many pots and pans, not counting lids?
   The headline piece count includes lids and gadgets, so asking for pans directly sizes the set honestly. It separates starter sets of 4 pans from full sets of 7 or 8.

## What to surface

### Cooking surface

What the food touches: a nonstick coating, bare stainless steel, or iron (cast iron or carbon steel, bare or enamelled). It sets how long the set lasts, how hot it can go and how you clean it. Wirecutter and Consumer Reports agree nonstick pans need replacing every few years; Wirecutter says stainless can last 'maybe even a lifetime', but no source backs cast iron lasting that long. Stainless sears and builds pan sauces but sticks; nonstick releases eggs but cannot take high heat or metal tools; bare iron holds heat and needs seasoning. [1] [4] [3] [17] [24] [27] [25]

Values: nonstick coating, stainless steel, cast iron or carbon steel, mixed set.
Question to ask: Nonstick, stainless steel, or cast iron?

Used as: top-level split, filter. Data: on the listing, backfill cost low. Look for it as: In the product title of every set read for this register ('Tri-Ply Clad', 'Hard-Anodized Nonstick', 'Ceramic Nonstick'). Watch titles that say stainless for a coated set (GreenPan GP5), and titles that say 'Carbon Nonstick' for bare, coating-free carbon steel (Misen).
When the title is ambiguous, look for 'nonstick', 'ceramic' or 'PTFE' in the description; a stainless body with a ceramic interior is a nonstick set (GreenPan GP5). Despite the name, Misen's 'Carbon Nonstick' sets have no coating ('no coatings', 'free of PFAS, PTFE, and PFOA') and are cast iron or carbon steel. Hybrid sets (a raised steel pattern over a coating, such as HexClad) are 'nonstick coating', classed by the coating underneath. 'Ceramic' here means a coating, not a solid ceramic or stoneware pot; this register does not cover solid ceramic cookware. 'Mixed set' is for boxes that combine surfaces, such as a stainless set with one nonstick skillet.

### Nonstick chemistry

For coated sets, whether the nonstick layer is PTFE (the Teflon-type coating, a PFAS) or a silica-based ceramic coating made without PFAS. It decides where the set may be sold. Minnesota bars PFAS cookware since January 2025, Maine and Colorado since January 2026 (Maine allows approved exceptions). California requires makers to name PTFE on the label and online listing. The FDA says cured PTFE releases negligible PFAS into food; the use risk is overheating, since PTFE starts to break down around 260 °C (500 °F). 'PFOA-free' says little: PFOA left US fluoropolymer production by 2015, but imports can still carry it. [6] [7] [8] [9] [11] [12] [14] [15] [10] [16] [17] [19] [22] [23] [28] [25]

Values: PTFE, ceramic (PFAS-free), not stated.
Question to ask: Teflon-type coating okay, or PFAS-free only?

Used as: top-level split, filter, shown on the card. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Brand pages state it: All-Clad 'This product contains PTFE'; GreenPan, Our Place and HexClad 'PFAS-free ceramic'. California's AB 1200 requires the PTFE statement on online listings for sales there, but presence on other retail listings is unconfirmed.
Read the brand page or the California disclosure. Treat 'PFOA-free' alone as 'not stated', and treat 'granite', 'stone' or 'diamond' coatings as 'not stated' until the maker names the chemistry. Connecticut bars PFAS cookware sales from 1 July 2026 unless the seller notifies DEEP in writing; Maine allows sale under an approved Currently Unavoidable Use (CUU) with notice. Vermont's status is unresolved: a cookware-focused tracker (BCLP) cites a ban from 1 Jan 2026 under S 25, but two broader trackers (Morgan Lewis, Safer States) do not list cookware in Vermont's 2026 law; treat it as unconfirmed, not as a ban, until a primary source settles it.

### Works on induction

Whether every piece has a magnetic base that an induction cooktop can heat. Induction heats only magnetic metal, so plain aluminium, hard-anodized aluminium and copper pans do nothing unless a steel plate is bonded underneath. A magnet that sticks firmly to the base is the test. Clad stainless with a magnetic outer layer, cast iron and carbon steel work. One brand can differ by line: All-Clad's hard-anodized Essentials set excludes induction, while its D3 stainless set works on it. [20] [1] [22] [21] [23] [28]

Question to ask: Need it to work on an induction cooktop?

Used as: top-level split, filter. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Brand pages say 'any stovetop, including induction' or 'excluding induction'; coated sets name an added base (GreenPan 'Magneto', Our Place 'dotted induction base').
Brand pages carry it for every set read. If absent, a bare aluminium or hard-anodized body with no named steel base means no.

### Pots and pans

The number of pots and pans in the set, not counting lids, inserts, utensils or storage pieces. Makers count every lid and accessory as a piece, so the headline number overstates the cookware. All-Clad's 10-piece D3 set is six pans and four lids; Tramontina's 12-piece set is seven pans and five lids; Caraway's 14 pieces include racks and hooks, and Our Place's 13 include four utensils. Comparing sets, or price per pan, needs this count. [3] [1] [2] [21]

Question to ask: How many pots and pans, not counting lids?

Used as: top-level split, filter, sortable. Data: derived from listing fields, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Not a field. Count the cooking vessels in the 'set includes' line (the supplies-standard pieces_included_text).
Count skillets, saucepans, sauté pans, stockpots, Dutch ovens, woks and square pans or griddles; skip lids, steamer and pasta inserts, trivets, racks and utensils. Items some makers ship outside the stated piece count, such as GreenPan's pan protectors or All-Clad's bonus trivets, are not vessels either.
Chart: Set composition strip.

### Dishwasher

Whether the maker allows the set in a dishwasher. Makers disagree even within one material. All-Clad says hand wash only for D3 stainless while Misen calls its stainless dishwasher safe; All-Clad and GreenPan allow coated sets in the dishwasher but advise hand washing to keep the coating, and Our Place says never. Wirecutter hand-washes all clad pans because detergents can attack the aluminium. [21] [26] [22] [23] [28] [1]

Values: dishwasher safe, allowed, hand wash advised, hand wash only.
Question to ask: Must it go in the dishwasher?

Used as: filter, shown on the card. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Brand care line: 'Handwash Only', 'Dishwasher safe, but hand washing recommended'.

### Largest skillet

The diameter of the biggest frying pan in the set, in inches. Sets cut cost with small skillets: Wirecutter says most include 8 and 10 inch pans and prefers 10 and 12 for searing a full batch at once. Of the 13 sets Reviewed lists with skillet sizes, only 3 include a 12-inch skillet. A set without one usually means buying it separately. [1] [2]

Question to ask: Need a big 12-inch skillet in the set?

Used as: filter, shown on the card, sortable. Data: derived from listing fields, backfill cost medium. Look for it as: From the 'set includes' line ('8- and 10-inch skillets').
Pieces named by brand rather than size (Our Place's Always Pan, Mini Always Pan) carry no inches in the includes line and need a brand lookup, so cost is medium for that slice.
Chart: Set composition strip.

### Lids

What the set's lids are made of, or whether it comes without lids. Glass lids let you watch food but cap the oven limit at 350 to 425 °F on the brand pages read, and Wirecutter avoids them because they crack if dropped and fog over anyway. Stainless lids go wherever the pan goes. Some sets ship with no lids at all: Misen's Carbon Nonstick set is four pans and nothing else. [1] [22] [25] [23] [28] [27]

Values: stainless steel, tempered glass, none included.
Question to ask: Glass lids to watch through, or steel ones for the oven?

Used as: filter, shown on the card. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Often in the title or includes line ('with Stainless Lids', 'Glass Lids'); otherwise on the brand page.
Fill per variant: a set's lid type can change between listed variants, such as Misen's Carbon Nonstick shipping with no lids or as a 'Complete Set + Glass Lids' bundle.

### Heat core

How the heat-spreading aluminium or copper sits in the pan: bonded through the whole pan up to the rim (fully clad), or only as a disc under the base. Stainless steel spreads heat poorly, so stainless pans depend on their core. Fully clad pans carry it up the walls; disc-base pans have it only underneath, and Wirecutter found them prone to scorching on the sides on gas and electric, though they do best on induction. 'Tri-ply' appears on both: Tramontina sells 'Tri-Ply Clad' and 'Tri-Ply Base' lines, so read 'base' or 'bottom' as a disc. Default to fully clad for broad stainless queries; treat disc base as an annotation. [1] [17] [29] [21]

Values: fully clad, disc base, single layer, cast.

Used as: filter, shown on the card. Data: needs research, backfill cost medium. Look for it as: Title words: 'clad' or 'bonded to the rim' mean fully clad; 'tri-ply base', 'encapsulated' or 'impact-bonded' mean a disc base.
Brand collection names settle most sets (Tramontina, All-Clad). Unbranded 'tri-ply' sets need a side-photo check for the disc, which is a vision task, so cost is medium for those.

### Largest pot

The capacity of the biggest stockpot or Dutch oven in the set, in quarts. Wirecutter wants 8 quarts or more for pasta, stock and big batches, a threshold only Wirecutter states, and says many sets stop at 6. In Reviewed's list, most sets hit 8 quarts or more; the All-Clad D3 Everyday, Ninja, GreenPan Valencia Pro and Caraway sets do not. [1] [2]


Used as: shown on the card, sortable. Data: derived from listing fields, backfill cost low. Look for it as: From the 'set includes' line ('8-quart stockpot with lid').
Chart: Set composition strip.

### Oven limit

The highest oven temperature the maker allows for the pots and pans themselves; lids are often rated lower. It decides whether you can start on the hob and finish in the oven or under the grill. Brand pages and testers put stainless and iron sets at 500 to 1,100 °F and coated sets mostly at 400 to 600 °F. Glass lids cap the set lower: 350 °F for All-Clad Essentials, 400 °F for HexClad, 425 °F for GreenPan and Our Place. [1] [21] [22] [26] [27] [23] [25] [28] [3] [2]

Range: 400 to 1100 °F. Clad stainless 500 to 800 °F; coated sets 400 to 600 °F; glass lids 350 to 425 °F.

Used as: filter, shown on the card. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Brand pages give one line, often with a separate lid figure: 'Oven safe up to 600˚F (lids up to 425˚F)'.
Record the pan figure here; record the lid figure in lid_oven_safe_f. If only one figure is given and the lids are glass, do not assume it covers the lids.
Chart: Oven ceiling scale.

### Lid oven limit

The highest oven temperature the maker allows for the set's lids, which is often lower than the pan limit. A set's real oven ceiling is the lower of the two numbers, and the lid is usually what binds: HexClad's pans take 900 °F but its glass lid only 400 °F, and GreenPan's pans take 600 °F against a 425 °F lid. Brand pages state it on the same line as the pan figure. [22] [25] [23] [28]

Range: 350 to 600 °F. Glass lids 350 to 425 °F; stainless lids share the pan's own limit.

Used as: shown on the card. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Same brand-page line as the pan's oven limit, usually in parentheses: 'Oven safe up to 600˚F (lids up to 425˚F)'.
Read from the same brand-page sentence as oven_safe_f. For stainless-lid sets with one stated figure, the lid shares the pan's limit.
Chart: Oven ceiling scale.

### Layers

How many bonded metal layers make up the pan wall, usually 3 (tri-ply) or 5. More layers do not mean better heating. Wirecutter found five-ply pans slower to heat, less even than tri-ply, heavier, and slow to cool when you turn the heat down; Reviewed found Made In's five-ply sets heavy. Makers sell five-ply as better heat retention. Read 3 as the reviewers' default and 5 as a weight warning, not an upgrade. [1] [2] [26] [24]

Range: 3 to 5 layers. 3 on most clad stainless sets; 5 on premium lines (All-Clad D5, Made In, Misen, GreenPan GP5).

Used as: shown on the card. Data: needs research, backfill cost low. Look for it as: Usually in the title of clad sets ('Tri-Ply', '3-Ply Bonded', '5-Ply').

## Numbers worth computing

| Metric | Formula | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Share of pieces that are pans (ratio) | `vessel_count / stated piece count` | Shows how much of the headline count is lids and gadgets: about 0.6 for All-Clad D3 (6 of 10) and Tramontina (7 of 12), about 0.3 for Our Place (4 of 13). [21] [1] [2] |
| Price per pan (currency per pan) | `price / vessel_count` | The fair way to compare a 14-piece box with a 10-piece one, since lids and accessories inflate the piece count but not the cooking you can do. [3] |
| Set oven ceiling (°F) | `min(oven_safe_f, lid_oven_safe_f)` | What the whole set can do covered in the oven. HexClad pans take 900 °F but their glass lids 400 °F; GreenPan Valencia Pro 600 °F and 425 °F. [25] [23] [22] |

## What you give up

- Nonstick makes eggs and cleanup easy, but the coating wears out in a few years and cannot take high heat or metal tools. Stainless sticks more but lasts decades. [1] [4] Board branch: "See more sets that last decades".
- Boxes with more pieces at the same price usually get there with lids, small pans and extras; sets with fewer, bigger pans (a 12-inch skillet, an 8-quart pot) cook more at once. [1] [2] [3] Board branch: "See more sets with a 12-inch skillet".
- Five-ply pans hold heat but are heavier and slower to heat and to cool than tri-ply, so they feel sluggish when you turn the flame down. [1] [2] Board branch: "See more lighter tri-ply sets".
- Glass lids let you watch the pot, but they cap the covered oven temperature at 350 to 425 °F and can break if dropped. [1] [22] [23] Board branch: "See more sets with steel lids".

## How to draw it

**Set composition strip** (other, shows Pots and pans, Largest skillet, Largest pot, Lids). One row per set: each pan a circle sized to its inches or quarts, each lid a ring, each accessory a small tick, with the stated piece count above. A 13-piece box of four pans looks different from a 10-piece box of six at a glance. Used today by Proposal. The labelled flat-lay photos in Wirecutter's and Reviewed's set reviews are the closest existing picture..

**Oven ceiling scale** (scale, shows Oven limit, Lid oven limit, Lids, Nonstick chemistry). A horizontal °F scale with the pan limit and the lid limit as two marks, so a set whose lids stop at 350 °F shows its real ceiling. A line at 500 °F marks where PTFE starts to break down. Used today by Proposal..

## Words you will meet

- **Fully clad**. A pan whose aluminium or copper core runs through the base and up the walls to the rim, bonded between steel layers.
- **Disc base (encapsulated base)**. A pan whose heat-spreading metal is only a disc fixed under the bottom, leaving the walls as thin steel.
- **Ply**. One bonded metal layer in a pan wall; tri-ply means three layers, usually steel, aluminium, steel.
- **PFAS**. A large family of man-made fluorine chemicals, some long-lasting in the body and environment, that includes the PTFE used in nonstick coatings.
- **PTFE**. The slippery plastic, sold as Teflon, that coats most traditional nonstick pans; it is one of the PFAS.
- **PFOA**. A PFAS once used to make PTFE and no longer used for that in the US, so 'PFOA-free' on a pan says little.
- **Ceramic nonstick**. A glassy coating made mainly from silica, without PFAS; it is not a ceramic pot, just a coated metal pan.
- **Hard-anodized aluminium**. Aluminium whose surface has been thickened electrically into a hard, non-reactive layer; it does not work on induction without a steel base.
- **Induction**. A cooktop that heats the pan itself with a magnetic field, so it works only with pans a magnet sticks to.
- **Seasoning**. A thin layer of oil baked onto bare cast iron or carbon steel that stops rust and sticking.
- **Open stock**. The same pans sold one at a time, so you can add a missing size later.
- **Sauté pan**. A wide pan with straight sides and a lid, for shallow braises and sauces.

## Where we made a call

- Count pots and pans, not pieces: makers count every lid, and some count utensils, racks and trivets. (confidence high). Consumer Reports' market analyst says so directly; Reviewed's and Wirecutter's piece lists and the All-Clad, Caraway and Our Place sets show it in practice. [3] [2] [1] [21]
- A nonstick set is a consumable: plan to replace it in a few years; stainless can last a lifetime. (confidence high). Wirecutter and Consumer Reports agree on nonstick replacement; only Wirecutter and Reviewed mention stainless lasting that long, and no source backs iron. Ceramic makers claim two to five years (GreenPan via CR) or five (Ninja via Reviewed). [1] [4] [5] [2]
- PTFE is low-risk by the FDA's account, yet three states bar it and Connecticut restricts it; overheating the pan is the real hazard. (confidence medium). Sources disagree. FDA finds negligible migration from cured coatings; Minnesota, Maine and Colorado ban intentionally added PFAS regardless. Connecticut requires notice instead of an outright ban; Vermont's cookware status is disputed between two legal trackers and unresolved here. [12] [6] [7] [8] [10] [17] [19]
- 'PFOA-free' on a nonstick set says little, because PFOA left US fluoropolymer production by 2015. (confidence high). EPA's stewardship programme set the 2015 goal for participating makers only; some fluoropolymer imports can still carry PFOA. T-fal says it stopped in 2012. California also limits 'free of' claims. [14] [15] [16] [11]
- Ceramic nonstick wears out faster than PTFE. (confidence low). Sources disagree. Wikipedia's cookware article says ceramic wears faster; Consumer Reports' latest pan tests put ceramic pans in the top three with very good durability scores. We could not reach CR's raw durability data, so we make no ranking. [17] [5]
- On gas and electric, fully clad stainless beats disc-base stainless, which performs best on induction instead. (confidence medium). Wirecutter's own words, not an inferred 'gap': disc-base pans 'wouldn't recommend them for gas and electric... performs best on induction cooktops.' One tester's finding; no measured scorch data. [1] [17]
- Five-ply is not an upgrade over tri-ply for most cooks; it adds weight and slows response. (confidence medium). Sources disagree. Wirecutter alone found five-ply slower and less even to heat than tri-ply, against makers' retention claims; Wirecutter and Reviewed agree it is heavier. We side with testers on weight; heating is single-sourced. [1] [2] [26] [24]
- Lead leaching is a risk with certain imported aluminium, brass and Hindalium cookware, not with the branded coated or clad sets here. (confidence medium). FDA warned retailers about aluminium, brass and Hindalium cookware that leaches lead and has authorised no lead in cookware. The products named are mostly single traditional pots; flag unbranded aluminium sets. [13]
- Two-piece skillet sets keep frying-pans' facets; this register adds only set-level facets to them. (confidence high). Internal taxonomy split, not externally sourced: frying-pans owns per-pan facets for 2-piece sets; two-vessel combo cookers route to saucepans, not here.

## References

1. [Wirecutter, The Best Cookware Set (updated November 2025; Internet Archive snapshot of 4 August 2026)](https://web.archive.org/web/20260804134342/https://www.nytimes.com/wirecutter/reviews/best-cookware-set/) (specialist review). Supports: Nonstick needs replacing every few years; stainless can last a lifetime.; Ideal sizes: 10 and 12 inch skillets, 8-quart stockpot; most sets include 8 and 10 inch.; Disc-base pans scorch on the sides on gas and electric; best on induction.; Five-ply heated slower, less evenly, and was heavier than tri-ply.; Glass lids avoided: break when dropped, fog over.; Tramontina 12-piece is seven pans and five lids, oven-safe to 500 °F.; Aluminium and anodized aluminium are not induction compatible.; Hand-wash clad pans; detergents can damage the aluminium..
2. [Reviewed, The Best Cookware Sets](https://www.reviewed.com/pots-pans/best-right-now/the-best-cookware-sets) (specialist review). Supports: Piece lists for 14 sets; 3 of 13 with skillet sizes include a 12-inch skillet.; Our Place 13-piece counts two spatulas, two spoons and a steamer basket.; Made In five-ply sets are heavy.; D3 Everyday oven-safe to 600 °F; Ninja claims five years of coating life.; A stainless set 'will last a lifetime' (reviewer's claim for one set)..
3. [Consumer Reports, Best Cookware Sets of 2026](https://www.consumerreports.org/home-garden/cookware/best-cookware-sets-of-the-year-a2221791769/) (specialist review). Supports: Manufacturers count a lid as a piece; utensils and a cookbook may be counted.; Caraway's 14 pieces: only half are pots or lids.; Coated set oven limits of 400 °F and 450 °F..
4. [Consumer Reports, Best Frying Pans If You Want to Avoid PFAS Chemicals](https://www.consumerreports.org/home-garden/cookware/best-frying-pans-if-you-want-to-avoid-pfas-chemicals-a1006253549/) (specialist review). Supports: Most nonstick pans have to be replaced every few years..
5. [Consumer Reports, Best Nonstick Frying Pans of 2026](https://www.consumerreports.org/home-garden/cookware/best-nonstick-frying-pans-from-consumer-reports-tests-a1041724599/) (specialist review). Supports: Ceramic-coated pans took the top three slots in CR's latest nonstick tests.; GreenPan expects its ceramic coatings to last two to five years..
6. [Minnesota Department of Health, PFAS and Products](https://www.health.state.mn.us/communities/environment/hazardous/topics/pfasproduct.html) (regulator). Supports: Cookware with intentionally added PFAS prohibited in Minnesota from 1 January 2025.; All products by 2032 unless the use is currently unavoidable..
7. [Maine DEP, PFAS in Products](https://www.maine.gov/dep/spills/topics/pfas/PFAS-products/index.html) (regulator). Supports: Cookware with intentionally added PFAS in the food-contact surface barred from 1 January 2026..
8. [Morgan Lewis, State Regulation of PFAS in Consumer Products Continues to Gain Momentum in 2026](https://www.morganlewis.com/pubs/2026/01/state-regulation-of-pfas-in-consumer-products-continues-to-gain-momentum-in-2026) (other). Supports: Colorado and Maine cookware PFAS prohibitions effective 1 January 2026.; Minnesota's cookware prohibition effective 1 January 2025.; Connecticut cookware PFAS ban from 1 July 2026, sale allowed with written notice to DEEP..
9. [Safer States, Laws going into effect in 2026](https://www.saferstates.org/resource/2026-analysis-of-state-policy-addressing-toxic-chemicals-and-plastics/laws-going-into-effect-in-2026/) (other). Supports: Maine and Colorado restrictions on PFAS in cookware taking effect in 2026.; Vermont's 2026 PFAS law bans textiles, turf and personal care items; it does not list cookware.; Connecticut's 2026 PFAS law requires reporting in 12 categories, not a cookware sales ban..
10. [BCLP, PFAS in Cookware: State-by-State Regulations](https://www.bclplaw.com/en-US/events-insights-news/pfas-in-cookware-state-by-state-regulations.html) (other). Supports: Minnesota's 2025 ban covers only food-contact nonstick PFAS coatings on cookware.; Cites a Vermont cookware ban from 1 January 2026 under S 25; disputed by other trackers..
11. [California Attorney General, AB 1200 enforcement advisory, 17 October 2023 (PDF)](https://oag.ca.gov/system/files/attachments/press-docs/AB1200%20Enforcement%20Advisory%20(1).pdf) (regulator). Supports: Website disclosure of listed chemicals from 2023; product label from 2024.; The label statement must also appear on online product listings.; 'Free of' claims barred for listed chemical classes unless not intentionally added..
12. [US FDA, Authorized Uses of PFAS in Food Contact Applications (Internet Archive snapshot of 6 October 2026)](https://web.archive.org/web/20261006143741/https://www.fda.gov/food/process-contaminants-food/authorized-uses-pfas-food-contact-applications) (regulator). Supports: Cured nonstick coatings contain negligible PFAS that can migrate to food..
13. [US FDA, Lead in Food and Foodwares (Internet Archive snapshot of 11 October 2026)](https://web.archive.org/web/20261011173241/https://www.fda.gov/food/environmental-contaminants-food/lead-food-and-foodwares) (regulator). Supports: Certain imported aluminium, brass and Hindalium cookware can leach lead.; No FDA regulation authorises lead in cookware..
14. [US EPA, Fact Sheet: 2010/2015 PFOA Stewardship Program](https://www.epa.gov/assessing-and-managing-chemicals-under-tsca/fact-sheet-20102015-pfoa-stewardship-program) (regulator). Supports: Eight companies committed to eliminate PFOA by 2015 and report meeting the goal..
15. [US EPA, Risk Management for PFAS under TSCA](https://www.epa.gov/assessing-and-managing-chemicals-under-tsca/risk-management-and-polyfluoroalkyl-substances-pfas) (regulator). Supports: PFOA is no longer made in the US for fluoropolymers, but some imports still carry it..
16. [T-fal, PTFE Nonstick Coating Explained](https://www.t-fal.com/ptfe-nonstick-coating-explained) (spec sheet). Supports: T-fal and its suppliers have not used PFOA since 2012..
17. [Wikipedia, Cookware and bakeware](https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cookware_and_bakeware) (primer). Supports: Cladding: core across the whole pan versus a disc on the base.; Stainless is 25 times less conductive than copper.; PTFE begins to degrade around 260 °C (500 °F).; Ceramic coatings are silica sol-gel and said to wear faster than PTFE.; Seasoning is polymerised oil on cast iron and carbon steel..
18. [Engineering ToolBox, Metals: Thermal Conductivities](https://www.engineeringtoolbox.com/thermal-conductivity-metals-d_858.html) (academic). Supports: Conductivity: copper about 400, aluminium about 236, cast iron 52, chrome-nickel steel 15 to 19 W/m·K..
19. [Environmental Health News, Nonstick pans can emit harmful fumes at high temperatures](https://www.ehn.org/nonstick-pans-can-emit-harmful-fumes-at-high-temperatures) (primer). Supports: PTFE pans overheated above 500 °F release harmful fumes..
20. [KitchenAid Product Help, Induction Compatible Cookware: How to Tell](https://producthelp.kitchenaid.com/FAQ/Induction_Compatible_Cookware:_How_to_Tell) (primer). Supports: The magnet test: if a magnet sticks firmly to the base, the pan works on induction.; Aluminium and copper need a magnetic base for induction..
21. [All-Clad, D3 Everyday Stainless 3-Ply Bonded 10 Piece Set](https://www.all-clad.com/d3-stainless-everyday-10-piece-pots-and-pans-cookware-set.html) (spec sheet). Supports: 10 pieces: six pans, four lids.; Oven and broiler safe to 600 °F, induction compatible, hand wash only.; Tri-ply bonded to the rim..
22. [All-Clad, Essentials Hard Anodized Nonstick Cookware Set, 13 Piece](https://www.all-clad.com/essentials-hard-anodized-nonstick-cookware-set-13-piece.html) (spec sheet). Supports: PTFE coating, disclosed as 'This product contains PTFE'.; Pans 500 °F, glass lids 350 °F, excludes induction.; Dishwasher safe but hand washing recommended.; States it will not ship to Colorado, Maine or Minnesota due to PFAS cookware bans..
23. [GreenPan, Valencia Pro Ceramic Nonstick 13-Piece Cookware Set](https://greenpan.us/products/valencia-pro-13-piece-nonstick-set) (spec sheet). Supports: PFAS-free ceramic nonstick on hard-anodized aluminium with a Magneto induction base.; Oven safe to 600 °F, glass lids to 425 °F.; Dishwasher safe, hand washing recommended..
24. [GreenPan, GP5 Stainless Steel 10-Piece Cookware Set](https://greenpan.us/products/gp5-stainless-steel-10-piece-cookware-set-mirror-handles) (spec sheet). Supports: Titled stainless steel, but five-ply bodies finished with ceramic nonstick..
25. [HexClad, Hybrid Pots & Pans Set, 12-pc](https://hexclad.com/products/pots-and-pans-set) (spec sheet). Supports: TerraBond ceramic nonstick, PTFE-free, under a steel hexagon pattern; tri-ply.; Pans oven-safe to 900 °F, glass lids to 400 °F..
26. [Misen, Stainless Steel Cookware Set](https://misen.com/products/stainless-cookware-set) (spec sheet). Supports: 5-ply, 3.0 mm, oven safe to 800 °F, dishwasher safe, induction compatible..
27. [Misen, Carbon Nonstick Complete Set](https://misen.com/products/carbon-nonstick-complete-set) (spec sheet). Supports: Four pans and no lids; nitrided carbon steel; oven safe to 1,100 °F.; Coating-free: 'no coatings'; 'free of PFAS, PTFE, and PFOA'..
28. [Our Place, Essentials Cookware Set](https://fromourplace.com/products/essentials-cookware-set-11-pc) (spec sheet). Supports: Ceramic coating made without PFAS or PTFE; dotted induction base.; Cookware 450 °F, glass lids 425 °F; never in the dishwasher.; This is the 11-piece Essentials set; Reviewed's 13-piece Our Place set is a different bundle with utensils..
29. [Tramontina USA, cookware collection menu](https://www.tramontina.com/en-us/) (spec sheet). Supports: Separate 'Signature Tri-Ply Clad' and 'Tempo Tri-Ply Base' stainless lines..
